Atlantic Zone Science Vessels

Table of Contents

File Formats

Much of this information is contained in a series of PDF formatted files that can be viewed, downloaded, or printed using Adobe Acrobat or Adobe Acrobat Reader. The latter can be obtained free of charge from http://get.adobe.com/reader/

Blank forms are also available as Microsoft Word (DOC) or Excel (XLS) files.

Atlantic Zone Science Platform Committee

DFO science vessels in the Atlantic Zone are operated by the Canadian Coast Guard. Time allocations and shipboard science related operations are managed by the Atlantic Zone Science Platform Committee which reports to the Atlantic Zone Science Directors Committee.

Atlantic Zone Science Platform Committee Mandate and Membership

Atlantic Zone Cruise Numbering System:

 DOC |  PDF

Requests for Ship Time

DFO operates a fleet of vessels in the Atlantic Zone (Quebec, Maritimes, Gulf and Newfoundland regions) whose primary role is scientific research. Requests for time allocations on these ships are normally only accepted from DFO and NRCan oceanographic scientists and members of the university research community who have appropriate funding approval from NSERC or some other agency. The requests are usually submitted in the autumn of the year preceding the requirement. A description of the vessels is available at http://www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca/eng/CCG/Careers_Overview

Ship Time Request Application Form

Gulf Region

Vessel Schedules

During the winter preceding the upcoming field season, DFO zonal science management, in consultation with regional Canadian Coast Guard Operations Directorate, allocates time and schedules the vessels according to program priorities.

Contact Amélie Rondeau for most recent schedule.

Quebec Region

Vessel Schedules

During the winter preceding the upcoming field season, DFO zonal science management, in consultation with regional Canadian Coast Guard Operations Directorate, allocates time and schedules the vessels according to program priorities.

Contact Claude Brassard for most recent schedule.

Maritimes Region

Vessel Schedules

During the winter preceding the upcoming field season, DFO zonal science management, in consultation with regional Canadian Coast Guard Operations Directorate, allocates time and schedules the vessels according to program priorities.

Contact Jay Barthelotte for most recent schedule.

Voyage Plan, Accommodation Plans and Mission Summaries

Four weeks before the departure date, the Senior Scientist must submit a "Voyage Plan Form B" and a vessel accommodation plan to Regional Operations Contact Atlantic.

Voyage Plan (Form B):  PDF |  DOC

CCGS Alfred Needler:  PDF |  Excel

CCGS Hudson:  PDF |  Excel

CCGS Matthew:  PDF |  Excel

Immediately upon completion of the cruise, the Senior Scientist must submit to D. Morse, CCG Operations, Maritimes Region the following forms:

Scientific Mission Summary (Form C1):  PDF |  DOC

Vessel Operation Report (Form C2):  PDF |  DOC

Winch and Auxiliary Equipment Report (Form C3):  PDF |  DOC

Shipboard Safety Guidelines

On a cruise by cruise basis, Science personnel in consultation with the vessel concerned shall endeavor to have the equipment to be used in the process certified according to guidelines agreed upon by CCG and the Science Sector. Particular attention shall be given to equipment that is to be engaged in potential high-risk functions such as heavy lift and towing operations.

Guidelines for the Certification of Scientific Equipment on Board Coast Guard Vessels:  PDF |  DOC

Manual for Senior Scientists

This manual is intended to provide a framework for planning, implementing and reporting on scientific and hydrographic voyages carried out on ships operated by the Maritimes Region of the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO).

Manual for Senior Scientists:  PDF

Bridge Log

Cover Page:  PDF  |   Left Page:  PDF  |   Right Page:  PDF file

Newfoundland Region

Vessel Schedules

During the winter preceding the upcoming field season, DFO zonal science management, in consultation with regional Canadian Coast Guard Operations Directorate, allocates time and schedules the vessels according to program priorities.

Contact George Sheppard for most recent schedule.

Navires scientifiques de la zone Atlantique

Table des matières

Format des fichiers

La plupart des renseignements présentés dans cette page sont dans des fichiers en format PDF qui peuvent être consultés, téléchargés ou imprimés en utilisant les logiciels Adobe Acrobat ou Adobe Acrobat Reader. Vous pouvez obtenir ce dernier gratuitement à l´adresse suivante : http://get.adobe.com/fr/reader/

Des formulaires vierges sont aussi disponibles en format Microsoft Word (DOC) ou Excel (XLS).

Comité sur les plates-formes scientifiques de la zone Atlantique

Les navires scientifiques du MPO dans la zone Atlantique sont exploités par la Garde côtière canadienne. Les attributions de temps-navire et les opérations liées aux activités scientifiques sont gérées par le comité sur les plates-formes scientifiques de la zone Atlantique, sous l´égide du Comité des directeurs des sciences de la zone Atlantique.

Mandat et composition du comité sur les plates-formes scientifiques de la zone Atlantique

Système de numérotation des croisières dans la zone Atlantique:

 DOC |  PDF

Demandes de temps-navire

Le MPO exploite une flotte de navires dans la zone Atlantique (régions Québec, des Maritimes, du Golfe et de Terre-Neuve) dont l´activité principale est la recherche scientifique. Les demandes d´attribution de temps sur ces navires ne sont en général acceptées que si elles émanent des scientifiques du MPO ou des océanographes de RNCan ainsi que des chercheurs universitaires qui ont obtenu le financement nécessaire du CRSNG ou d´une autre agence. Les demandes sont soumises en général durant l´automne qui précède l´expédition. Vous trouverez une description des navires à l´adresse suivante : http://www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca/fra/GCC/Emplois_Apercu

Formulaire de demande de temps-navire

Région Golfe

Affectations des navires

Au cours de l´hiver qui précède la campagne sur le terrain, la gestion des sciences par zone du MPO, en consultation avec la Direction des opérations de la Garde côtière canadienne, attribue les périodes de temps-navire et établit le calendrier des affectations des navires en fonction des priorités.

Pour le programme le plus récent veuillez contacter Amélie Rondeau.

Région Québec

Affectations des navires

Au cours de l´hiver qui précède la campagne sur le terrain, la gestion des sciences par zone du MPO, en consultation avec la Direction des opérations de la Garde côtière canadienne, attribue les périodes de temps-navire et établit le calendrier des affectations des navires en fonction des priorités.

Pour le programme le plus récent veuillez contacter Claude Brassard.

Région des Maritimes

Affectations des navires

Au cours de l´hiver qui précède la campagne sur le terrain, la gestion des sciences par zone du MPO, en consultation avec la Direction des opérations de la Garde côtière canadienne, attribue les périodes de temps-navire et établit le calendrier des affectations des navires en fonction des priorités.

Pour le programme le plus récent veuillez contacter Jay Barthelotte.

Plans de voyage, plans d´utilisation des navires et sommaires de missions

Quatre semaines avant la date de leur départ, les scientifiques doivent soumettre un plan de voyage (formulaire B) et un plan d´utilisation du navire à Opérations de contact régional de l'Atlantique.

Plan de voyage (Formulaire B):  PDF |  DOC

NGCC Alfred Needler:  PDF |  Excel

NGCC Hudson:  PDF |  Excel

NGCC Matthew:  PDF |  Excel

Dès la fin du voyage, le scientifique de plus haut niveau doit faire parvenir à D. Morse, Opérations de la GCC, Région des Maritimes, les documents suivants :

Sommaire de mission scientifique(Formulaire C1):  PDF |  DOC

Rapport d´exploitation de navire (Formulaire C2):  PDF |  DOC

Rapport sur les treuils et l´équipement auxiliaire (Formulaire C3):  PDF |  DOC

Lignes directrices en matière de sécurité à bord des navires

À chaque voyage, le personnel des Sciences, en consultation avec l´équipage du navire concerné, s´occupera de faire homologuer tout le matériel devant être utilisé lors de la mission conformément aux directives convenues entre la GCC et le secteur des Sciences. Le matériel devant être utilisé dans des activités à haut risque potentiel (matériel de levage et de remorquage p. ex.) fera l´objet d´une attention particulière.

Directives pour l´homologation du matériel scientifique à bord des navires de la Garde côtière:  PDF |  DOC

Guide à l´intention des scientifiques seniors

Ce guide a pour but de fournir un cadre de planification, de mise en oeuvre et d´établissement de rapports de missions scientifiques et hydrographiques effectuées sur des navires exploités par la Région des Maritimes du ministère des Pêches et des Océans(MPO).

Guide à l´intention des scientifiques seniors:  PDF

Carnet de Passerelle

Page couverture:  PDF  |   Page gauche:  PDF  |   Page droit:  PDF file

Région de Terre-Neuve

Affectations des navires

Au cours de l´hiver qui précède la campagne sur le terrain, la gestion des sciences par zone du MPO, en consultation avec la Direction des opérations de la Garde côtière canadienne, attribue les périodes de temps-navire et établit le calendrier des affectations des navires en fonction des priorités.

Pour le programme le plus récent veuillez contacter George Sheppard.