Hydrographic Climate Database

The Ocean Science Hydrographic Climate Database (Climate) is a comprehensive, open access collection of temperature and salinity data for the Northwest Atlantic and Eastern Arctic, an area defined by 35°N - 80° N and 42°W - 100° W. The data come from a variety of sources including hydrographic bottles, Conductivity Temperature Depth (CTD) casts, profiling floats, spatially and temporally averaged Batfish tows, and expendable, digital or mechanical bathythermographs. Near real-time observations of temperature and salinity from the Global Telecommunications System (GTS) are also included. The database currently consists of approximately 850,000 profiles and 35 million individual observations from 1910 to January 2010. Vertical resolution varies from 1 m (for CTDs) to ~ 10-100 m for traditional bottle casts. Climate was updated monthly and approximately 20,000 new profiles were added each year.

Validation

Initial validation is carried out by the originating institute or organization. All data, whether from Canadian or foreign sources are also validated by the Marine Environmental Data Service (MEDS), the national data center for Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The primary validation procedures at MEDS are described in the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) publication Global Temperature-Salinity Pilot Project (GTSPP) Real Time Quality Control Manual.

At the Bedford Institute of Oceanography (BIO), the data are subjected to a set of final tests before being incorporated into the database. One of the primary functions of this validation is the determination and elimination of duplicate profiles.

For climatological purposes, we have defined a duplicate as any profile which is within 0.02° of latitude and 0.03° of longitude (roughly 3 km.) and 30 minutes time of another profile.

Determining which duplicate to select is based on a data type hierarchy. A CTD down cast is at the highest level, down through bottle casts, the various Bathythermograph (BT) types, and finally the low resolution Integrated Global Ocean Services System (IGOSS) Tesac and Bathy messages. Low resolution Bathy and Tesac messages get replaced with the higher resolution CTD or eXpendable Bathythermograph (XBT) data as they become available after having worked their way through the collecting agency, national data center if outside of Canada, and finally to MEDS. This process may take a number of years before we receive the final version of the data to replace the near real-time IGOSS data. If data type does not reconcile duplicate selection, selection is based on a progression of selecting Canadian data over foreign, selecting the profile with the greatest number of observations, and finally, selecting the profile with the greatest depth.

Profiles which have been flagged as having failed the MEDS quality control are individually examined to determine if any may be salvaged. There is no attempt to correct erroneous data, however individual data levels may be discarded and a portion of a profile retained.

In addition, the entire database is subjected to various ongoing subjective and objective tests to improve the overall confidence in the data. Stations with individual observations three standard deviations outside of the mean value derived from a 1° grid averaged over depths ranging from 25 meters at the surface to 500 meters for the deep ocean on a seasonal basis have been individually examined and removed when deemed appropriate.

Interpolated values

During the early 1970's, data was sent to MEDS from BIO as inflection points based on a liner regression tolerance of 0.01° or 0.01 psu. Also during the period 1969-89, MEDS had a limit of 99 levels for a single CTD profile which they ensured by using a similar reduction technique. As a consequence, much of the CTD data during this period was at a much reduced resolution. As a one-time correction, all CTD data in the database with an average depth resolution (maximum depth/ # of observations) of less than 5 meters were interpolated to include values at standard oceanographic depths.

References


The Climate Application

This application extracts information from the Ocean Sciences hydrographic database according to user specified spatial and temporal criteria. Output results can be either statistical summaries of the data or the actual data stored in the database (for input into your own analyses). The query is performed off-line. You will be contacted by email when your results become available. Results should normally be available within a few hours (depending upon the size of your query and the number of requests ahead of you). If you haven't had a reply within 24 hours, contact us and we will try to determine what happened.

The query screen is the "home base" for the application. Most of the fields on the query form are linked to help text that can be displayed at any time.

Processing options include the ability to select only those records that contain both temperature and salinity observations and an option to average the values within a profile according to the depth specification. This reduces the resolution of highly sampled data to more closely resemble observations sampled much less frequently.

Users can request a number of different data products which include a station index of latitude, longitude and date/time for each profile selected, individual observations making up the profile, time series based on monthly averages within the latitude, longitude, depth volume, or a seasonal cycle based on averages over all months from the time series statistics.

A Brief Tour

(A) Query Identification

All of your queries are assigned a unique query number and saved under your user name. You can re-run existing queries or edit them and submit them as new queries. You can assign a name under TITLE. This name is saved internally in the results files for your reference.

(B) Area Selection Type

You may define a geographical area in one of three ways;

  1. choose from a list of predefined polygons (multiple selections are permitted). The pre-defined polygons are shown on the System Polygons page.
  2. provide your own polygon definition by latitude/longitude co-ordinates. To do this, select the Define Area button at the top of your screen, follow the instructions to create a new polygon, and then select it from the list of predefined polygons.
  3. define a rectangle by latitude/longitude coordinates. The blocks parameter permits one to subdivide the entire rectangle into x by y blocks. For example, specifying latitude from 42° to 45° and longitude from -62° to -65° with 1° blocks in both latitude and longitude would result in defining 9 separate 1° grid squares for which statistics would be generated.

Note that the convention for longitude is positive East. Latitude and Longitude must be specified as decimal degrees, but we provide a converter if you prefer degrees, minutes, seconds.

A note on blocking (gridding):

If latitude longitude blocking is not requested (i.e., the lat_block field and lon_block fields are left blank) the output will contain all the data within the search rectangle, including points that lie on all the boundaries of the rectangle.

If blocking is requested then the following algorithm will be used.

The bins of user specified size will be created originating from point (0,0). The data that belong to the user specified rectangle will then be distributed among these bins. Data on the left and upper boundary of the bin are excluded. These points are assigned to the adjacent bin. The final output will only include the data that belong to the bins whose centers are within or on the boundary of the rectangle.

As a result, depending on the rectangle co-ordinates and the block size, the output may exclude part of the data that belong to the specified rectangle.

Scenario a, b and c

For example, in scenario (a) of the above diagram, the boundaries of the specified rectangle align exactly on the gridlines. The points along the dotted boundaries are excluded because the centers of the bins that contain these points lie outside the rectangle.

In example (b), the boundaries of the rectangle are on the center of the surrounding grid. All the points that are within the rectangle as well as those on the boundaries of the rectangle will be included. However, it is important to note that the bins that are along the boundaries would include only the data for the section of the grid that are within the rectangle.

In case (c), the output would exclude the data on the dotted lines and in the shaded area as the centers of the bins that contain these points lie outside the rectangle.

(C) Time Specification

Specify a continuous time period from (month/day/year) to (month/day/year) and/or a seasonal window. Months are inclusive. Months six to nine means June to September. Months 12 to two would select only December to February. Default is all months for the entire time period for which there are data.

(D) Depth Specification

Depth ranges are specified by entering a string of comma-separated fields defining; First_bin, Bin_size, Bin_interval, Last_bin.

The string is read as "Starting with First_bin, plus/minus Bin_size, repeat every Bin_interval until Last_bin". Multiple depth specifications can be included for each query.

Example:

0, 5, 25, 100
150, 10, 50, 250

This will generate statistics for the bin ranges 0±5, 25±5, 50±5, 75±5, 100±5, 150±10, 200±10, 250±10

If not specified, the last two values (Bin_Interval and Last_bin) default to 0 and First_bin. e.g. 500,500 will extract all data for 500±500 metres. This is the same as the old specification.

The numbers do not have to be integers. Real number entries will be rounded to the second decimal place during query processing. If you are specifying multiple depth specifications, separate each set by pressing the enter key, ensuring that each set appears on a line by itself.

(E) Processing Options

There are two optional selection criteria. One or both may be selected.

The TS Only option selects only records with contain both temperature and salinity observations. Because we have a lot of XBT data, there are many more temperature observations than salinity. The statistics for sigma-t are based on individual computations. There are not based on the overall statistics of temperature and salinity.

The Bin Averaging option is appropriate only if you have requested the complete profile data. This option averages the values within a profile according to the depth specification. What this does is reduce the resolution of highly sampled data to something more closely resembling observations sampled much less frequently. Suppose for example that you intended to use the individual observations to optimally estimate temperature. CTD data, sampled at every metre, would dominate bottle data sampled every 25 meters. Specifying bin averaging and depth ranges of 10 or 20 meters would result in getting a single average CTD observation for the 10 (or 20) metre level, much closer to the 25 to 50 resolution you would expect from a bottle.

(F) Product Selection

The result set files returned to you depend upon what options you request.

The standard deviation is calculated using the "nonbiased" or "n-1" method using the following formula:

s = ( 1 n - 1 i = 1 n ( x i - x ¯ ) 2 ) 1 2

The Seasonal Cycle, Timeseries options will get both the Timesseries of monthly statistics (average, minimum, maximum and count of observations (T,S,sigma) for each year and month and depth level for which there are data) and Seasonal Cycle (average, minimum. maximum, standard deviation, count of observations and count of months in average). The values are determined by an un-weighted average over all months from the time series statistics.

The Complete Profile opiton extracts every value of temperature and salinity referenced to depth, latitude, longitude and date. These files can be very large. Many people request it simply because they can. Make sure it is what you really require before requesting it. There are also some file size restrictions. See Caveats.

The Station Index option lists latitude, longitude and date/time for each profile selected.

The complete result set can consist of up to five ascii text files. All files are of the form qry_xx.txt, where xx is your unique query identifier. Files are comma delimited with a header label for easy import into a spreadsheet or database application. The definition for each file and explanation follows (see detailed file description).

(G) Run

After the query specification is complete, selecting Run will submit the query.

Base de Donnes Climatiques Hydrographique

La Base de données hydrographiques climatiques de la Division des Sciences océaniques (Climat) est une collection exhaustive et librement accessible de données sur la température et la salinité dans l’Atlantique nord-ouest et l’est de l’Arctique, la région délimitée par 35 à 80° N. et 42 à 100° O. Les données sont de diverses provenances: bouteilles de prélèvement hydrographique, profils de CTP (Conductivité Température Profondeur, flotteurs dérivants, moyennes spatiales et temporelles de données de Batfish remorqués et données de bathythermographes non récupérables numériques ou mécaniques. On y trouve également des observations en temps quasi réel de la température et de la salinité du Système mondial de télécommunication (SMT). La base de données comprend actuellement environ 850000 profils et 35 millions d’observations individuelles effectuées de 1910 à janvier 2010. La résolution suivant la verticale varie de 1 m (pour les CTP) à ~ 10 à 100 m pour les échantillonnages classiques au moyen de bouteilles de prélèvement. La Base de données Climat a été mise à jour chaque mois et environ 20 000 nouveaux profils ont été ajoutés chaque année.

Validation

La validation initiale est effectuée par l’institut ou l’organisation d’origine. Toutes les données, qu’elles proviennent de sources canadiennes ou étrangères, sont validées par le Service des données sur le milieu marin (SDMM), qui est le centre national de données pour le ministère des Pêches et Océans. Les procédures de première validation au SDMM sont décrites dans la publication de la Commission Océanographique Intergouvernementale (COI) intitulée «GTSPP Real Time Quality Control Manual» disponible à l’adresse Web GTSPP Real Time Quality Control Manual.

À l’IOB les données sont soumises à un ensemble final d’essais avant d’être intégrées à la base de données. La détermination et l’élimination des profils figurant en double constitue l’une des principales fonctions de cette validation.

À des fins climatologiques, nous avons défini comme double tout profil dont la latitude se situe à moins de 0,02°, et la longitude à moins de 0,03° (environ 3 km), de celles d’un autre profil qui a été acquis à moins de 30 minutes d’intervalle.

La détermination du double à choisir se fait en fonction d’une hiérarchisation des types de données. Le profil de CTP se situe au niveau le plus élevé de cette hiérarchie et est suivi des prélèvements à la bouteille, des divers types de BT (BathyThermographie) et enfin des messages Tesac et Bathy à faible résolution du SMISO («Integrated Global Ocean Services System» - Système Mondial Intégré de Services Océaniques). Les messages Tesac et Bathy à faible résolution du SMISO sont remplacés par les données de CTP et de XBT («eXpendable BathyThermograph» - bathythermographie consomptible) à plus grande résolution à mesure que celles-ci deviennent disponibles après être passées par l’organisation de collecte, le centre national de données, si hors du Canada, et enfin le SDMM. Ce processus peut s’étaler sur un certain nombre d’années avant que nous recevions la version finale des données qui remplaceront les données en temps quasi réel du SMISO. Si le type de données ne permet pas d’effectuer le choix du double à intégrer, celui-ci est basé sur la progression suivante: choix de données canadiennes de préférence aux données étrangères, choix du profil présentant le plus grand nombre d’observations et enfin choix du profil présentant la plus grande profondeur.

Les profils identifiés comme ayant échoué le contrôle de la qualité du SDMM sont examinés individuellement afin de déterminer s’ils peuvent être récupérés. Aucune tentative de correction de données erronées n’est effectuée; cependant des données pour des niveaux individuels peuvent être rejetées alors qu’une partie du profil est conservée.

En outre, la base de données dans son ensemble est en permanence soumise à divers essais subjectifs et objectifs visant à améliorer la confiance globale accordée aux données. Les stations auxquelles des observations individuelles s’écartent de plus de 3 écarts-types de la valeur moyenne calculée sur une base saisonnière pour une cellule de quadrillage de 1° de côté et pour les profondeurs comprises entre 25 mètres et 500 mètres en haute mer ont été individuellement examinées et supprimées lorsque cela semblait approprié.

Valeurs interpolées

Au début des années 70, les données étaient acheminées au SDMM par l’IOB si les points d’inflexion marquaient un écart de la pente de la droite de régression supérieur à 0,01° ou 0,01USP. De plus, pendant l’intervalle de 1969 à 1989, le SDMM ne pouvait tenir compte que de 99 niveaux pour un profil individuel de CTP, ce qui s’effectuait par une similaire méthode de réduction. En conséquence, une bonne partie des données de CTP acquises pendant cet intervalle présentent une beaucoup moindre résolution. À titre de correction appliquée en une seule fois, toutes les données de CTP de la base de données pour lesquelles la résolution moyenne en profondeur (profondeur maximum/ nombre d’observations) était inférieure à 5 mètres ont fait l’objet d’une interpolation aux valeurs normalisées de la profondeur utilisées en océanographie.

Références

L’application Climat

Cette application extrait de l’information de la base de données hydrographiques de la Division des Sciences océaniques conformément aux critères spatiaux et temporels précisés par l’utilisateur. Les résultats fournis peuvent être soit des sommaires statistiques des données, soit les données stockées dans la base de données (à introduire dans ses propres analyses). L’interrogation de la base de données s’effectue en ligne. Le demandeur est contacté par courriel dès que ses résultats sont disponibles. Les résultats devraient normalement être disponibles en moins de quelques heures (selon l’ampleur de la requête et le nombre de requêtes en attente). Si aucune réponse n’est reçue dans les 24 heures, il faut communiquer avec nous et nous tenterons de déterminer ce qui s’est passé.

L’écran de requête est la «page d’accueil» de l’application. La plupart des champs du formulaire de requête sont reliés au texte d’aide qui peut ainsi être affiché en tout temps.

Les options de traitement offrent la possibilité de ne choisir que les enregistrement comportant des observations de la température et de la salinité et une possibilité de calcul d’une moyenne des valeurs d’un profil en fonction de la profondeur précisée. Cela permet de réduire la résolution des données à échantillonnage fréquent pour la faire plus étroitement correspondre à celle des observations échantillonnées beaucoup moins fréquemment.

L’utilisateur peut demander un certain nombre de produits de données différents dont une liste des postes fournissant la latitude, la longitude et les date/heure pour chacun des profils sélectionnés, les observations individuelles composant le profil, des séries chronologiques basées sur les moyennes mensuelles à l’intérieur des latitudes, des longitudes et des profondeurs choisies ou un cycle saisonnier basé sur des moyennes pour tous les mois de la succession chronologique de statistiques.

Brève visite

Figure 1 : L'écran de recherche

(A) Identification de la requête

Un numéro unique est attribué à chaque requête et sauvegardé sous le non de l’utilisateur. L’utilisateur peut ainsi exécuter de nouveau une requête déjà faite ou la modifier pour la présenter sous forme de nouvelle requête. Un nom peut être attribué à la requête dans la case «TITRE». Ce nom est sauvegardé à l’interne dans les fichiers de résultats à des fins de référence.

(B) Sélection de la région

Une région géographique peut être définie de trois façons:

  • On peut la choisir dans une liste de polygones prédéfinis (possibilité de choix multiples). Les polygones prédéfinis sont représentés à la page polygones.
  • On peut définir son propre polygone au moyen de ses coordonnées en latitude et en longitude. Pour ce faire, cocher le bouton sous «Type de sélection région» au haut de l’écran, puis suivre les instructions pour créer un nouveau polygone et ensuite le choisir dans la liste des polygones prédéfinis.
  • On peut définir un rectangle au moyen de ses coordonnées en latitude et en longitude. Le paramètre «blocs» permet de subdiviser un rectangle en x rangées de y blocs. Par exemple, en choisissant les latitudes de 42 à 45° et les longitudes de -62 à -65° subdivisées en blocs de 1° en latitude et en longitude, on obtiendrait 9 cellules distinctes de 1° de côté pour lesquelles les statistiques seraient générées.

Noter que la convention pour la longitude consiste à utiliser des valeurs positives pour les longitudes est. La latitude et la longitude doivent être exprimées en degrés et décimales, mais nous fournissons un outil de conversion si vous préférez les exprimer en degrés, minutes et secondes.

(C) Indication des dates

Il faut préciser un intervalle ininterrompu sous la forme de (mois/jour/année) à (mois/jour/année) et/ou une fenêtre saisonnière. Les mois indiqués s'entendent inclusivement Les mois 6 à 9 correspondent à l’intervalle de juin à septembre. Les mois 12 à 2 correspondent à l’intervalle de décembre à février. L’intervalle par défaut comprend tous les mois de toute la période de temps pour laquelle il existe des données.

(D) Spécification de la profondeur

Les plages de profondeurs sont précisées en introduisant une chaîne de champs séparés par des virgules et définissant les éléments suivants:
première plage (First_bin), taille de la plage (Bin_size), intervalle entre les plages (Bin_interval), dernière plage (Last_bin).

Cette chaîne se lit comme suit: «En commençant par First_bin, plus ou moins Bin_size, recommencer à tous les intervalles Bin_interval, jusqu'à Last_bin». Plusieurs plages de profondeur peuvent être précisées pour chaque requête.

Scénario a, b et c

Figure 2 : scénario a, b et c (ci-dessous)

On obtiendra ainsi les statistiques pour les plages de profondeurs suivantes :

Si elles ne sont pas précisées, les deux dernières valeurs (Bin_Interval et Last_bin) prennent par défaut la valeur 0 et celle de First_bin.
Par exemple «500,500» permettra d'extraire toutes les données pour 500±500 mètres. Ceci est identique à la spécification antérieure.

Il n'est pas nécessaire que les nombres soient des entiers. Les nombres réels seront arrondis à la deuxième position décimale pendant le traitement de la requête. Si de multiples plages de profondeur sont indiquées, séparer chacune en appuyant sur la touche «Entrée», ce qui assure que chaque plage est indiquée sur une ligne distincte.

(E) Options de traitement

Il y a deux critères optionnels. Il est possible de choisir l'un ou l'autre ou les deux.

TS uniquement pour choisir uniquement les enregistrements renfermant des observations de température et de salinité. Puisque nous disposons de beaucoup de données de XBT, il existe davantage d'observations de la température que de la salinité. Les statistiques pour sigma-t sont basées sur des calculs individuels. Elles ne sont pas basées sur l'ensemble des statistiques pour la température et la salinité.

Moyennes de plages – Cette option n’est pertinente que si on demande un profil complet. Elle permet de calculer une moyenne d’après les valeurs d’un profil pour la profondeur précisée. Il en résulte que la résolution des données à échantillonnage fréquent est réduite de manière à la faire plus étroitement correspondre à celle des observations échantillonnées beaucoup moins fréquemment. On utilisera par exemple cette option si les observations individuelles sont destinées à une estimation optimale de la température. Des données de CTP échantillonnées aux mètres seraient dominantes par rapport à des données échantillonnées à la bouteille aux 25 mètres. En choisissant l’option «Moyennes de plages» et des plages de profondeurs de 10 ou 20 mètres, on obtiendra une seule moyenne des observations de CTP pour chaque plage de profondeurs de 10 (ou 20) mètres, ce qui correspondrait beaucoup mieux à la résolution de 25 à 50 m à laquelle on peut s’attendre de l’échantillonnage à la bouteille de prélèvement.

(F) Sélection de produit

Les fichiers d’ensembles de résultats retournés à l’utilisateur dépendent des options choisies.
L’écart-type est calculé par la méthode «non biaisée» ou «n-1» en utilisant la formule suivante:

s = ( 1 n - 1 i = 1 n ( x i - x ¯ ) 2 ) 1 2

Cycle saisonnier, série chronologique – En cochant les cases «Cycle saisonnier, Série chronologique» on obtiendra des séries chronologiques de statistiques mensuelles (moyenne, minimum, maximum et nombre d’observations pour chaque année et chaque mois ainsi que la plage de profondeurs pour laquelle il existe des données) et le Cycle saisonnier (moyenne, minimum, maximum, écart-type, nombre d'observations et nombre de mois pour la moyenne). Les valeurs sont obtenues par calcul d’une moyenne non pondérée pour les statistiques de la série chronologique pour tous les mois.

Profil complet – En cochant la case «Profil complet» on obtiendra chacune des valeurs de la température et de la salinité avec la profondeur, la latitude, la longitude et la date de l’observation. Ces fichiers peuvent être très volumineux. La plupart des gens en font la demande tout simplement parce qu'ils en ont la possibilité. Avant de faire cette demande, s'assurer qu’elle correspond réellement à ce que l’on souhaite obtenir.
Des limites sont en outre imposées à la taille des fichiers. Voir les Avertissements.

Liste des postes - En cochant la case «Liste des postes» on obtiendra la latitude, la longitude et la date/l’heure pour chacun des profils sélectionnés.

L'ensemble complet des résultats peut constituer jusqu'à 5 fichiers de texte ascii. Tous les fichiers ont la forme qry_xx.txt, où xx est l'identificateur exclusif attribué à la requête. Dans les fichiers les données sont séparées par des virgules et les fichiers comportent une étiquette d’en-tête pour permettre de facilement les importer dans un tableur ou une application de base de donnée. On présente ci-après la définition de chaque fichier ainsi que des explications qui s'y rapportent. (voir la description détaillée du fichier).

(G) Exécution

– Lorsque la formulation de la requête est terminée, elle est présentée en cliquant sur le bouton «Exécuter»