Seahorse

SeaHorse is a moored, wave-powered profiler developed at the Bedford Institute of Oceanography. It uses wave energy and a one-way clamp to climb down a mooring line. Once at the bottom, it waits for a user-defined time when the clamp opens and the buoyant device floats back up the line. Sensors are turned on during the ascent to provide detailed, rapidly-repeating data profiles over extended periods. Some of the water properties typically measured with SeaHorse are salinity, temperature, chlorophyll (which is a measure of phytoplankton growth), oxygen, turbidity (sediment in the water), and light level.

SeaHorse meets the need for regular, detailed profiling of key oceanographic parameters without the need for repeated visits from a ship. The mooring can be left at a remote location for months to automatically profile the water column at regular intervals, unattended. Ship time is only needed for the deployment and recovery.

The SeaHorse moored profiler is one of the sampling tools used as part of the Atlantic Zonal Monitoring Program (AZMP), providing bi-hourly profiles to 80 m from a location 25 km off the coast from Halifax in 150 m depth. Referred to as Station 2 of the Halifax Line, this location is considered representative of the Scotian shelf, and monitoring here provides insight into the short and long term variability in physical and biological processes on the shelf.

A system for real time telemetry of SeaHorse data has recently been developed. Data from the scientific instruments mounted on the SeaHorse profiler are transmitted up the mooring cable to the surface buoy, using SeaBird inductive modems. The data are then transmitted ashore using a 2-way Iridium satellite system, automatically processed at BIO, and then posted on the web.

SeaHorse is patented by the Government of Canada, and is currently being manufactured, under license from Fisheries and Oceans Canada, by ODIM-Brooke Ocean (Rolls-Royce) Ltd. of Dartmouth, Nova Scotia.

A Seahorse buoy being deployed.

A Seahorse buoy being deployed.

A Seahorse buoy (left) with profiler (right).

A Seahorse buoy (left) with profiler (right).

Interior of the Seahorse profiler.

Interior of the Seahorse profiler.

Deployment Data

References

  • Fowler, G. A., J. M. Hamilton, B. D. Beanlands, and A. R. Furlong, 1997. "A Wave-Powered Profiler for Long-Term Monitoring", in Oceans'97 MTS/IEEE Conference Proceedings, pp. 225-228
  • Petrie, B., B. J. Topliss, and D. G. Wright, 1987. "Coastal Upwelling and Eddy Development off Nova Scotia", J. Geophys. Res., 29, 12979 - 12991.
  • Hamilton, Jim, George Fowler and Brian Beanlands, Long-Term Monitoring with a Wave-Powered Profiler, in Sea Technology, March, 1999.

Links

Contacts

  • Jim Hamilton, Ocean Sciences Division, Bedford Institute of Oceanography, Dartmouth, N. S.
  • Merle Pittman, Ocean Sciences Division, Bedford Institute of Oceanography, Dartmouth, N. S.
  • Randy King, Ocean Sciences Division, Bedford Institute of Oceanography, Dartmouth, N. S.

Seahorse

Le Seahorse est un profileur amarré entraîné par les vagues qui a été conçu à l'Institut océanographique de Bedford. Il utilise l'énergie des vagues et une pince unidirectionnelle lui permettant de descendre le long d'une ligne d'amarre. Lorsqu'il a atteint le fond, l'appareil attend que la pince s'ouvre à un moment prédéterminé par l'utilisateur, permettant au dispositif flottant de remonter le long de la ligne. Pendant sa remontée, des capteurs sont activés pour fournir des profils de données détaillés de façon rapide et répétitive sur des périodes prolongées. Les propriétés de l'eau habituellement mesurées par le Seahorse sont la salinité, la température, les concentrations de chlorophylle (mesure de la croissance du phytoplancton), l'oxygène, la turbidité (sédiments dans l'eau) et l'intensité lumineuse.

Le Seahorse répond au besoin de profils détaillés réguliers des principaux paramètres océanographiques sans que des sorties répétées en mer par bateau soient nécessaires. La ligne d'amarre peut être laissée à un emplacement éloigné pendant des mois afin de recueillir automatiquement des profils de la colonne d'eau à des intervalles réguliers, sans surveillance. La navigation n'est requise que pour le déploiement et la récupération de l'appareil.

Le profileur amarré Seahorse est l'un des instruments d'échantillonnage utilisés dans le cadre du Programme de monitorage de la zone Atlantique (PMZA); il fournit des profils au rythme de deux à l'heure jusqu'à 80 m à partir d'un emplacement situé à 25 km au large des côtes d'Halifax, à 150 m de profondeur. Désigné sous le nom de Station 2 du transect de Halifax, cet emplacement est jugé représentatif du plateau néo-écossais, et la surveillance à cet endroit donne un aperçu de la variabilité à court terme et à long terme des processus physiques et biologiques sur le plateau.

Un système de télémesure en temps réel des données du Seahorse a été récemment élaboré. Les données recueillies par les instruments scientifiques installés sur le profileur Seahorse sont transmises le long de la ligne d'amarre jusqu'au flotteur de surface à l'aide d'un modem à induction Sea-Bird. Les données sont ensuite transmises à terre par le système Iridium de transmission bidirectionnelle par satellite, automatiquement traitées à l'IOB et affichées sur le Web.

Le Seahorse a été breveté par le gouvernement du Canada et est actuellement fabriqué, sous licence de Pêches et Océans Canada, par ODIM Brooke Ocean (Rolls-Royce) Ltd. à Dartmouth, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

Déploiement d'un flotteur du Seahorse.

Déploiement d'un flotteur du Seahorse.

Flotteur du Seahorse (à gauche) avec profileur (à droite).

Flotteur du Seahorse (à gauche) avec profileur (à droite).

Intérieur du profileur Seahorse.

Intérieur du profileur Seahorse.

Données sur le déploiement

Références

  • Fowler, G. A., J. M. Hamilton, B. D. Beanlands, et A. R. Furlong, 1997. "A Wave-Powered Profiler for Long-Term Monitoring", dans Oceans'97 MTS/IEEE Conference Proceedings, p. 225 à 228.
  • Petrie, B., B. J. Topliss, et D. G. Wright, 1987. "Coastal Upwelling and Eddy Development off Nova Scotia", J. Geophys. Res., 29, p. 12979 à 12991.
  • Hamilton, Jim, George Fowler et Brian Beanlands, "Long-term monitoring with a moored wave-powered profiler", dans Sea Technology. Mars 1999.

Liens

Personnes-ressources

  • Jim Hamilton, Division des sciences océanologiques, Institut océanographique de Bedford, Dartmouth (N.-É.)
  • Merle Pittman, Division des sciences océanologiques, Institut océanographique de Bedford, Dartmouth (N.-É.)
  • Randy King, Division des sciences océanologiques, Institut océanographique de Bedford, Dartmouth (N.-É.)