Managed Fisheries

The following is a list of fish species that are managed fisheries in Atlantic Canadian waters. Species names that are hyperlinked provide information about the species.

Crustaceans

Crustaceans are a large group of arthropods (invertebrates with exoskeletons) that include crabs, shrimp, and lobsters, among others. Crustaceans are generally differentiated from other arthropod groups by their biramous limbs (limbs having only two segments), and by the different stages through which their larvae develop.

Groundfish

Groundfish are any fish that live in or on the bottom of a body of water. They include halibut, flounder, skates, and others.

Large Pelagics

Pelagic fish are those that live in the water column (i.e, those not living near the bottom) of seas, oceans, and lakes. Large pelagic species include several species of shark, tuna, and billfish.

Molluscs

Molluscs are a class of invertebrates typically charactarised by a large internal cavity into which the anus and genitals open, as well as a uniquely organised nervous system. Counted among their number are gastropods, like snails and whelks; bivalves, like clams and scallops; and cephalopods, like squids and octopuses.

Commercial Seaweeds

"Seaweed" is a term used to refer to a broad range of different algae, both macro- and microscopic, which live on the seabed. Some of these species are harvested as commercial crops, either as food (like Dulse), or for some other use (Irish Moss is valuable for the compound carrageenan which can be extracted from it).

Diadromous Fish

Diadromous fish are those that migrate between fresh and salt water. In the maritimes, they are often either anadromous, meaning they live in the ocean and breed in fresh water; or catadromous, meaning they live in fresh water and breed in the ocean.

  • Eel
  • Gaspereau
  • Salmon
  • Shad
  • Smelt
  • Sturgeon
  • Trout

Pcheries Gres

La liste suivante présente les espèces de poissons qui font partie des pêcheries gérées dans les eaux du Canada atlantique. Des renseignements sont fournis sur les espèces en cliquant sur leur nom en hyperlien.

Crustacés

Les crustacés sont un grand groupe d'arthropodes (invertébrés dotés d'exoskelettes) qui comprend notamment le crabe, la crevette et le homard. En général, les membres birames (membres comptant seulement deux segments) des crustacés ainsi que les différentes étapes du développement de leurs larves permettent de les différencier des autres groupes d'arthropodes.

Poissons de fond

Les poissons de fond sont tous les poissons qui vivent au fond d'une étendue d'eau. Ils comprennent notamment le flétan, la plie et la raie.

Grands poissons pélagiques

Les poissons pélagiques sont ceux qui vivent dans la colonne d'eau (c.-à-d. qui ne vivent pas près du fond) des mers, des océans et des lacs. Les espèces de grands poissons pélagiques comprennent plusieurs espèces de requins, de thons et de voiliers.

Mollusques

Les mollusques sont une classe d'invertébrés généralement caractérisée par une grande cavité interne dans laquelle débouchent l'anus et les organes génitaux ainsi que par un système nerveux unique. Parmi ceux-ci, mentionnons les gastéropodes tels que l'escargot et le buccin, les bivalves tels que la palourde et le pétoncle et les céphalopodes tels que le calmar et la pieuvre.

Espèces commerciales de varechs

Le terme « varech » fait référence à une grande variété d'algues, à la fois macroscopiques et microscopiques, qui poussent sur le fond marin. Certaines de ces espèces sont exploitées en tant que cultures commerciales, soit comme nourriture (p. ex. la dulse), soit à d'autres fins (la mousse d'Irlande est précieuse en raison de son composé, le carraghénane, qui est extractible).

Poissons diadromes

Les poissons diadromes sont ceux qui effectuent des migrations entre l'eau salée et l'eau douce. Dans les Maritimes, ces poissons sont souvent anadromes, ce qui signifie qu'ils vivent dans l'océan et frayent dans l'eau douce, ou catadromes, ce qui signifie qu'ils vivent dans l'eau douce et frayent dans l'océan.

  • Anguille
  • Gaspareau
  • Saumon
  • Alose
  • Éperlan
  • Esturgeon
  • Truite