WebDrogue Drift Prediction Model v0.7

WebDrogue is graphical user interface for a drift trajectory program. It can be used to obtain drift predictions for any point in the model domain and can be installed under MS-Windows and Linux. This is a beta release of the application.

The drift trajectories are computed using circulation derived from the tides, the seasonal mean circulation, wind-driven circulation, and a surface-wind drift. The technique for computing the wind-driven circulation and for combining all the circulation components is described in Hannah et al. (2000). Further discussion of the methodology can be found below.

Potential users should be aware that this is still a research product and exercise due caution. This product should not be used for navigation purposes.

WebDrogue regions available
includes Java VM
without Java VM
Instructions
Windows

Windows

Linux

Linux

Requirements:

WebDrogue requires the use of Java 1.4 or better. A version of WebDrogue is available that includes a Java vertual machine (currently SUN JRE 1.4.2) that will be installed so only WebDrogue can use it. This means that any applications or applets that may rely on lesser versions of Java should still work.

Disclaimer:

This program is distributed by the copyright holder and contributors in the hope that it will be useful. It is provided "AS IS" without warranties of any kind, whether express or implied. This includes, but is not limited to, merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose.

In no event shall the copyright holder be liable for damages, including any general, special, incidental or consequential damages arising out of the use or inability to use the program (including, but not limited to, loss of use, data or profits).

This program is not to be used for navigation purposes.

Please note:

As of version 0.65, the Northwest Atlantic data set is included with WebDrogue. All other data sets must be installed separately.

For further information: Contact BIO Webmaster. To be kept informed about updates to this program, please enter your name and email address in the form below.

Sources of the velocity fields and their limitations

1. Source for the velocity fields

The velocity field is computed as the sum of 5 components: the long-term seasonal mean, the responses to along-shelf and cross-shelf wind stress and sea level forcing at the upstream boundary, and the M2 tidal currents. A detailed description of the procedure for calculating the composite fields is described by Hannah et al. (2000) for an application requiring estimating the monthly mean circulation in the vicinity of Browns Bank. A brief description is given here.

For this application there are 4 seasons, spring, summer, fall and winter, representing the seasonal cycle. The velocity fields were computed for a model domain covering the Scotian Shelf and Gulf of Maine from Cape Breton Island to Cape Cod. Hannah et al. (2001) provide a description of the calculation procedure and a comparison with moored current observations. Shore et al. (2000) provide a description of the upper-ocean drift pathways in these circulation fields.

The responses to the along- and cross-shelf stress were calculated using a linear 3-d barotropic model (Lynch et al. 1992) with specified vertical eddy viscosity and bottom friction coefficients. The boundary elevations were clamped at zero along the upstream and offshore boundary. The vertical mixing coefficients were based on a blending of an empirical upper-ocean profile and the vertical mixing coefficients taken from the spring solution (Hannah et al. 2000). The bottom friction coefficients were taken as the time-averaged coefficients from the spring solution plus the additional bottom friction due to 10 cm/s of unmodelled flow. The response patterns are similar to those described in Greenberg et al. (1997).

The velocity response to boundary forcing was calculated using the same linear barotropic model, bottom friction coefficients and vertical eddy viscosities as used for the wind response. The upstream boundary forcing was specified as a linear elevation decrease from the coast to mid-shelf, with the rest of the upstream and offshore boundary clamped to zero. The user specified forcing for this component is the adjusted sea level anomaly at Halifax. The anomaly is with respect to the combination of the seasonal cycle and the effect of local wind forcing. There is further discussion of this forcing component below.

The M2 tidal currents from Hannah et al. (2001) are included in the calculation of the velocity field.

For the drift calculations all of the velocity fields have been vertically averaged. The available intervals are: 0-5 m (surface), 25-35 m (25 m), and 95-105 m (100 m). When the averaging interval intersects the bottom, the average over the bottom 10 m was used.

When the tracking is being done in the surface layer, the user has the option to include an additional drift due to near-surface velocities that are not captured in the modelled fields and the direct effect of the wind on the object. The additional drift is specified in terms of a fraction of the user specified wind speed and a rotation.

The tracking algorithm is based on the DROG3D program developed by Cisco Werner and Brian Blanton (Werner et al. 1993; Blanton 1995; www.opnml.unc.edu).

2. Limitations

It is important to an understanding of the limitations of the circulation fields used to calculate the drift trajectories.

  • The seasonal mean circulation component

    The fields are a realistic representation of 3-d seasonal circulation on the western and central Scotian Shelf obtained from historical observations and a combination of diagnostic and prognostic numerical models with forcing by tides, wind stress and baroclinic and barotropic pressure gradients. The major current features - the southwestward Nova Scotian and shelf-edge currents, and partial gyres around Browns and Sable Island Banks - are found to persist year-round but with significant seasonal changes.

    The quality of the flow fields varies across the region. As described in Hannah et al. (2001), comparison with current meter observations shows good agreement for the Browns Bank, southwest Nova Scotia and inner-shelf regions, and poorer agreement in the Sable Island Bank and shelf-edge regions where current and density observations are sparser and tidal influences weaker. The agreement with observations on Georges Bank is also good. There has not been a systematic comparison with observations in the Gulf of Maine, primarily due to the limited number of multiyear observations.

    There is temporal variability on timescales from hourly to interannual and longer that is not captured by the climatological seasonal-mean calculation. For example, the circulation for any particular April or May will be different from each other and from the mean spring conditions.

  • The wind-driven flow

    The wind-driven flow has two components: the local response to wind and the response to the sea surface pressure field set-up by the large scale wind field. The spatially uniform winds give rise to errors in each. The wind stress near the drifter can be different in magnitude and direction from the nearest observation location and the winds away from the drifter play an important role in shaping the pressure field which is an important component of the velocity field near the drifter.

    The calculation also assumes a steady-state response to the wind. This can lead to errors in direction and magnitude. These errors depend on the space-time structure of the wind field and have not been quantified.

    Another limitation on the wind-driven flow is that the vertical structure of the wind-driven flow is fixed. The vertical eddy viscosities are based on the spring model solutions. Thus the surface wind-mixed layer will be too deep in summer and too shallow in winter. There may also be a systematic underestimation of the mixed layer depths because storm effects were not included on the seasonal-mean simulations. In addition events such as the deepening of the mixed layer due to a particular storm is not included.

  • The boundary forced flow

    Knowing the correct amplitude for this forcing term is difficult. Adjusted Halifax sea level (sea level plus air pressure) contains contributions from the wind over the Scotian shelf, from the wind over the shelf regions to the north and east, changes in the density field over the Scotian Shelf, changes in the density field on the shelf regions to the north and east and changes in the density field over the Scotian Slope. The required components are those due to changes in the wind and density fields on the shelf regions to the north and east, and only the part that deviates from the seasonal cycle. In addition, the spatial structure of the boundary forced flow component is fixed, and the specified spatial structure of the boundary forcing will not be correct for all situations. There are large uncertainties associated with this component.

  • Tidal currents

    For studies of the small-scale structure of the trajectories, there are limitations associated with only having a single tidal component. In the Gulf of Maine the other semi-diurnal components contribute to both the phase and amplitude of the tidal currents and on the Scotian Shelf the diurnal tidal components can be important.

Further Reading

Blanton, B. 1995. DROG3D: User's Manual for 3-Dimensional Drogue Tracking on a Finite Element Grid with Linear Finite Elements. Program in Marine Sciences, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, 13 pp.

Greenberg, D. A., Loder, J. W, Shen, Y, Lynch, D. R, and Naimie, C. E. 1997. Spatial and temporal structure of the barotropic response of the Scotian Shelf and Gulf of Maine to surface wind stress: a model based study. J. Geophys. Res. 102: 20897-20915.

Hannah, C. G., J. A. Shore and J. W. Loder. 2000. The retention-drift dichotomy on Browns Bank: a model study of interannual variability. Can. J. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 57: 2506-2518.

Hannah, C. G., J. Shore, J. W. Loder, and C. E. Naimie. 2001. Seasonal circulation on the western and central Scotian Shelf. J. Physical Oceanography. 31:591-615.

Lynch, D. R., Werner, F. E, Greenberg, D. A, and Loder, J. W. 1992. Diagnostic model for baroclinic, wind-driven and tidal circulation in shallow seas. Cont. Shelf Res. 12:37-64.

Shore, J. A., C. G. Hannah and J. W. Loder. 2000. Drift pathways on the western Scotian shelf and its evirons. Can. J. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 57: 2488-2505.

Werner, F., Page, F., Lynch, D., Loder, J., Lough, R., Perry, R., Greenberg, D., and Sinclair, M. 1993. Influence of mean advection and simple behavior on the distribution of cod and haddock early life stages on Georges Bank. Fish. Oceanogr. 2: 43-64.


Details of the Seasonal Mean Wind Effects:

In its present configuration, WebDrogue subtracts the seasonal mean wind stress from the User Specified Wind Stress when calculating the velocity response associated with the oceanic response to wind stress (the Ekman response and the currents associated with the surface-pressure gradients that arise as the ocean responds to the wind). This is the response to along and cross-shelf winds that is discussed in the documentation here.

If the 'User-Specified Wind Stress' is zero (the default) and the seasonal mean wind stress is non-zero (more below) then WebDrogue calculates the velocity response associated with the negative of the seasonal mean wind stress and adds that to the mean currents. Thus one does not get the seasonal mean circulation when tracking with a zero wind stress. This is a bit annoying but not necessarily wrong.

Of the four data sets currently available, only the Scotian Shelf, Gulf of Maine set (also called cg1) has non-zero values for the seasonal mean wind stresses.

To eliminate the seasonal mean wind stresses from the drogue calculation in the Scotian Shelf, Gulf of Maine domain the user has two choices:

  1. Add a wind forcing that will (approximately) cancel the seasonal mean wind stress.
    The appropriate values for the wind speed and direction are given below.
    Season Wind Speed (m/s) Wind Direction (deg CW from N)
    Winter 4.91 291
    Spring 2.84 280
    Summer 2.87 212
    Fall 3.22 278
  2. Edit the data file and set the wind stresses to zero. The file to edit is <WebTide Home Directory>/data/cg1/vel_data.txt. The lines to edit are the ones below labels of the form <SEASON>STRESSX and <SEASON>STRESSY, where <SEASON> is one of WINTER, SPRING, SUMMER or FALL. Set the numbers below each label to "0.0".

Modèle de prévision de marée WebDrogue v0.7

Cette interface graphique permet d'obtenir des prédictions de dérive pour n'importe quel point dans le domaine du modèle et peut être installé sous MS-Windows et Linux. Ceci est une version beta de l'application.

Les trajectoires de dérive sont calculées à l'aide de courants provenant des marées, de la circulation moyenne saisonnière, de la circulation due au vent et à la dérive de surface due au vent. La technique pour calculer les circulation due au vent et pour combiner touts les composantes de courant est décrit dans Hannah et al. (2000). Davantage de discussion de la méthodologie peut être trouvée ci-dessous.

Les usagers potentiels sont mis en garde que ceci est encore un produit de recherche et qu'il doit être utilisé avec précaution. Ce produit ne devrait pas être utilisé pour la navigation.

WebDrogue regions available
Avec Java MV
Sans Java VM
Instructions

Conditions:

WebDrogue requiert l'utilisation de la version 1.4 de Java ou d'une version supérieure. Si vous téléchargez la version de WebDrogue qui comprend la machine virtuelle Java, c'est une copie locale qui sera installée, que seul WebDrogue pourra voir. De cette façon, les applications ou les applets installés qui se servent de versions antérieures de Java devraient continuer de fonctionner.

Décharge de responsabilité:

Ce programme est distribué par le détenteur des droits d'auteur et les co auteurs dans l'espoir qu'il sera utile. Il est fourni « EN L'ÉTAT », sans aucune garantie que ce soit, expresse ou implicite, y compris en ce qui a trait, entre autres, à sa qualité marchande ou à sa pertinence pour un but précis.

Le détenteur des droits d'auteur ne pourra en aucun cas être tenu responsable en cas de dommages, qu'il s'agisse de dommages généraux, particuliers, imprévus ou indirects découlant de l'utilisation ou de l'impossibilité d'utiliser le programme (y compris, entre autres, la perte d'utilisation, de données ou de profits).

Ce programme ne doit pas être utilisé pour la navigation.

Veuillez noter:

L'ensemble de doneées d'Atlantique du nord-ouest est maintenant inclus avec WebDrogue. Tous autres ensembles de donées doivent être installés séparément.

Contacts: Contact IOB Webmaster. Si vous voulez être informé des mises à jour apportées au programme, veuillez entrer votre nom et votre adresse électronique dans le formulaire ci-dessous.

Sources des champs de vitesse et leurs limitations

1. Sources des champs de vitesse

Le champ de vitesse est calculé comme la somme des cinq composantes: la moyenne saisonnière à long terme, les réponses au vent le long et perpendiculairement au plateau continental et le forçage à la frontière amont du niveau de la mer, et les courants de marée M2. Une description détaillée de la procédure de calcul le champ composite est décrit dans Hannah et al. (2000) pour une application requérant l'estimation de la circulation mensuelle moyenne autour du Banc de Brown. Une brêve description est donnée ici.

Pour cette application il y a quatre saisons, printemps, été, automne et hiver, représentant le cycle saisonnier. Le champ de vitesse est calculé pour un domaine couvrant le plateau continental Néo-Écossais et le Golfe du Maine depuis le Cap-Breton jusqu'au Cap Cod. Hannah et al. (2001) fournit une description de la procédure du calcul et une comparaison avec des observations de courantmètres mouillées. Shore et al. (2000) fournit une description des trajectoires de dérive pour l'océan de proche-surface.

Les réponses dû au forçage le long et perpendiculairement au plateau continental ont été calculé à l'aide d'un modèle 3-d linéaire barotropic (Lynch et al. 1992) avec des coefficients de friction et de diffusion turbulente verticale spécifiés. Les élévations aux frontières ont été fixées à zéro le long des frontières amont et en eau profonde. Les coefficients de mélange verticaux sont basés sur un mélange de profile empirique pour l'océan de proche-surface et les coefficients de mélange obtenus pour la solution de printemps (Hannah et al. 2000). Les coefficients de friction de fond ont été obtenus comme la moyenne temporelle de la solution de printemps et de la friction supplémentaire due à un écoulement de 10 cm/s non modélisé. Les structures de la réponse sont similaires à ceux observés par Greenberg et al. (1997).

La réponse en vitesse due au forçage de la frontière a été calculé à l'aide du même modèle linéaire et barotropique, des mêmes coefficients de fond et de turbulence verticale utilisés pour la réponse au vent. Le forçage en amont a été spécifié comme étant une chute linéaire de l'élévation depuis la côte jusqu'à mi-distance sur le plateau continental avec le reste fixé à zéro. Le forçage spécifié par l'usager pour cette composante est l'anomalie du niveau marin à Halifax. L'anomalie est relative à une combinaison de l'effet de cycle saisonnier et du forçage local par le vent. Il y a une discussion plus longue de ce forçage ci-dessous.

Les courants de marée M2 de Hannah et al. (2001) ont été inclus dans la calcul du champ de vitesse.

Pour le calcul de dérive tous les champs de vitesse sont verticalement moyennés. Les intervalles disponibles sont: 0-5 m (surface), 25-35 m (25 m) et 95-105 m (100 m). Quand l'intervalle coupe le fond, la moyenne sur les 10 m supérieurs est utilisée.

Quand le suivi est fait dans la couche de surface, l'usager a l'option d'inclure une dérive additionnelle due aux vitesses proche de la surface qui ne sont pas inclus dans le modèle et l'effet direct du vent sur l'objet. La dérive additionnelle est spécifié en termes d'une fraction du vent spéficié par l'usager et d'une rotation.

L'algorithme de suivi est basé sur le programme DROG3D développé par Cisco Werner and Brian Blanton (Werner et al. 1993; Blanton 1995; www.opnml.unc.edu).

2. Limitations

Il est important de comprendre les limitations des champs de courant utilisés dans le calcul de la trajectoire de dérive.

  • La composante saisonniè moyenne de courant

    Les champs sont une représentation réaliste de la circulation 3-d saisonnière sur le plateau continental ouest et central Néo-Écossais obtenus à partir d'observations historiques et une combinaison de modèles diagnostiques et prognostiques avec un forçage de marée, de vent et de gradients de pression baroclinique et barotropique. Les caractéristiques majeures des courants - le courant du plateau Néo-Écossais vers le sud-ouest et de bord de plateau, et les gyres partielles autour des Bancs de Brown de l'Ile au Sable - persistent à l'année longue bien qu'avec des modifications saisonnières significatives.

    La qualité des champs de courant varie à travers la région. Comme décrit dans Hannah et al. (2001), la comparaison avec des observations de courant est bonne pour le Banc de Brown, le sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse et l'intérieur du plateau, et moins bonne pour le Banc de l'Ile au Sable et le bord du plateau oû les observations des courants et de la densité sont moins nombreuses. l'accord avec les observations sur le Banc de Georges est bonne aussi. Il n'y a pas encore eu de comparaison systématique dans le Golfe du Maine, principalement à cause du nombre limité d'observations multi-annuelles.

    La variabilité sur des échelles de l'heure jusqu'à l'échelle inter-annuelle et au delà n'est pas pris en compte par la circulation moyenne saisonnière. Par exemple, les circulations pour n'importe quel mois d'Avril ou de Mai seront différentes entre elles et des conditions moyennes printannières.

  • Les courants dû au vent

    Les courants dû au vent ont deux composantes: la réponse locale au vent et la réponse au champ de pression atmosphérique au niveau de la mer créé par le champ de vent aux larges échelles. Le vent spatialement uniforme donne lieu à des erreurs dans les deux. Le vent près d'un objet dérivant peut être différent en amplitude et en direction de la plus proche observation et les vents loin de l'objet dérivant ouent un rôle important dans la formation du champ de pression qui est une composante importante du champ de vitesse près de l'objet dérivant.

    Le calcul suppose aussi une réponse quasi-stationnaire au vent. Ceci peut amener des erreurs en direction et en amplitude. Ces erreurs dépendent de la structure spatio-temporelle du champ du vent et n'ont pas été quantifiées.

    Une autre limitation des courants dû au vent est que leur structure verticale est fixe. Les coefficients de viscosité turbulente sont basés sur la solution de printemps du modèle. Ainsi la couche de mélange dû au vent sera trop profonde en été et pas assez en hiver. Il se peut aussi que les profondeurs des couches de mélange soient sous-estimées à cause de l'absence des tempêtes dans les simulations moyennes saisonnières. De plus, l'approfondissement de la couche de mélange dû à une tempête particulière n'est pas pris en compte.

  • Les courants dûs au forçage de la frontière

    Connaître la correcte amplitude du terme de forçage est difficile. Le niveau de la mer ajustéà Halifax (niveau de la mer plus la pression atmosphérique) contient des contributions du vent au dessus du plateau Néo-Écossais et des plateaux au nord et à l'est, et des changements dans la champ de densité sur le plateau Néo-Écossais, au nord et a l'est et sur la pente continentale. Les composantes requises sont celles dues au changement dans les champs de vent et de densité sur les plateaux au nord et à l'est, et seulement la part qui dévie du cycle saisonnier. De plus, la structure spatiale des courants dûs au forçage de la frontière est fixe, et cette structure ne correspondra pas toujours à toutes les situations. Il y a des larges incertitudes associées à cette composante.

  • Les courants de marée

    Pour l'étude des structures à petites échelles des trajectoires, il y a des limitations à avoir une seule composante de marée. Dans le Golfe du Maine, les autres composantes semi-diurnes contribuent à la phase et l'amplitude des courants de marée et sur le plateau Néo-Écossais les composantes diurnes de la marée peuvent être importantes.

Pour plus d'information

Blanton, B. 1995. DROG3D: User's Manual for 3-Dimensional Drogue Tracking on a Finite Element Grid with Linear Finite Elements. Program in Marine Sciences, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, 13 pp.

Greenberg, D. A., Loder, J. W, Shen, Y, Lynch, D. R, and Naimie, C. E. 1997. Spatial and temporal structure of the barotropic response of the Scotian Shelf and Gulf of Maine to surface wind stress: a model based study. J. Geophys. Res. 102: 20897-20915.

Hannah, C. G., J. A. Shore and J. W. Loder. 2000. The retention-drift dichotomy on Browns Bank: a model study of interannual variability. Can. J. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 57: 2506-2518.

Hannah, C. G., J. Shore, J. W. Loder, and C. E. Naimie. 2001. Seasonal circulation on the western and central Scotian Shelf. J. Physical Oceanography. 31:591-615.

Lynch, D. R., Werner, F. E, Greenberg, D. A, and Loder, J. W. 1992. Diagnostic model for baroclinic, wind-driven and tidal circulation in shallow seas. Cont. Shelf Res. 12:37-64.

Shore, J. A., C. G. Hannah and J. W. Loder. 2000. Drift pathways on the western Scotian shelf and its evirons. Can. J. Fish. Aquat. Sci. 57: 2488-2505.

Werner, F., Page, F., Lynch, D., Loder, J., Lough, R., Perry, R., Greenberg, D., and Sinclair, M. 1993. Influence of mean advection and simple behavior on the distribution of cod and haddock early life stages on Georges Bank. Fish. Oceanogr. 2: 43-64.

Détails sur les effets moyens saisonniers du vent :

Selon sa configuration actuelle, WebDrogue soustrait la tension moyenne saisonnière du vent de la tension du vent définie par l'utilisateur lorsqu'il calcule la réponse en vitesse associée à la réponse océanique à la tension du vent (la réponse d'Ekman et les courants associés aux gradients de pression de surface qui surviennent lors de la réponse océanique au vent). C'est la réponse aux vents le long et en travers de la plate-forme dont il est question dans la documentation.

Si la « tension du vent définie par l'utilisateur » est de zéro (valeur par défaut) et si la tension moyenne saisonnière du vent est différente de zéro (plus bas) alors WebDrogue calcule la réponse en vitesse associée à la valeur négative de la tension moyenne saisonnière du vent et l'ajoute aux courants moyens. On n'obtient pas la circulation moyenne saisonnière lors d'un suivi avec une tension nulle du vent. Cette situation est un peu ennuyeuse mais pas nécessairement fausse.

Parmi les quatre jeux de données actuellement disponibles, seul le jeu de données de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise, golfe du Maine (aussi appelé cg1), a des valeurs différentes de zéro pour les tensions moyennes saisonnières du vent.

Afin d'éliminer les tensions moyennes saisonnières du vent du calcul à l'aide d'une drogue à courant dans le domaine de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise, golfe du Maine, deux choix s'offrent à l'utilisateur :

  1. Ajouter un forçage éolien qui annulera (approximativement) la tension moyenne saisonnière du vent.
    Les valeurs appropriées de vitesse et de direction du vent sont énoncées ci-après.
    Saison Vitesse du vent (m/s) Direction du vent (deg. CW depuis le N.)
    Hiver 4.91 291
    Printemps 2.84 280
    Été 2.87 212
    Automne 3.22 278
  2. Éditer le fichier de données et régler les tensions du vent à zéro. Le fichier à éditer est le /data/cg1/vel_data.txt. Les lignes à éditer sont celles sous les étiquettes STRESSX et STRESSY du formulaire, où se trouve l'une des variables pour l'hiver (WINTER), le printemps (SPRING), l'été (SUMMER) ou l'automne (FALL). Pour les valeurs sous chaque étiquette, inscrire « 0,0 ».

Une version plus ancienne du WebDrogue peuvent être trouvés ici.