Ocean Data Inventory (ODI)

Please cite ODI as follows:

DFO (20xx). Ocean Data Inventory (ODI): database inventory of moored current meters, thermographs and tide gauges from the East Coast of Canada, 1960 to present. Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Canada. https://www.bio.gc.ca/science/data-donnees/base/data-donnees/odi-en.php. Database accessed on –insert date here

Where xx is the year in which you interrogated the database

In addition please include the following in your list of references:

Gregory, D.N. 2004. Ocean Data Inventory (ODI): A Database of Ocean Current, Temperature and Salinity Time Series for the Northwest Atlantic. DFO Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat Research Document 2004/097

Important Note:

On startup the application displays a map as a popup which Windows XP may block. Select "Always allow pop-ups from this site".

Many of you may also use the Google toolbar which can also block popups. Go to the Options menu and deselect the popup blocker.

If you don't wish to do this, there is a button "Show all stations" at the bottom of the query screen. Selecting this will force the map to be drawn.

The ODI Application

This application extracts information from the Ocean Data Inventory according to user specified spatial and temporal criteria. Output results consist of information for all of the deployments satisfying your criteria, and monthly statistics for the selected parameters (water levels excepted).

The query screen is the "home base" for the application. Requested maps and data products are always displayed in a new browser window. Most of the fields on the query form are linked to help text that can be displayed at any time.

Upon first entering the application, a default map window is created displaying all of the available data. Creating and running a query will refine the search criteria to include only the information desired. Maps and products are always based on the current query criteria. Products available from the database include maps of the station locations for selected parameters, station details for selected locations, and monthly statistics for currents, temperature and salinity. Displayed data pages can be saved as an Excel spreadsheet or a comma delimited (csv) file. Formatted reports can be saved as rich text format (rtf) for import into a word processor.

Reference

Gregory, D.N. 2004. Ocean Data Inventory (ODI): A Database of Ocean Current, Temperature and Salinity Time Series for the Northwest Atlantic. DFO Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat Research Document 2004/097

The ODI Database

The Ocean Data Inventory database is an inventory of all of the oceanographic time series data held by the Ocean Science Division (OSD) at the Bedford Institute of Oceanography. The data archive includes about 5800 current metre and acoustic doppler time series, 4500 coastal temperature time series from thermographs, as well as a small number (200) of tide gauges. Many of the current meters also have temperature and salinity sensors. The area for which there are data is roughly defined as the North Atlantic and Arctic from 30° - 82° N, although there are some minor amounts of data from other parts of the world. The time period is from 1960 to present. The database is updated on a regular basis.

In addition to reporting the data record, the inventory includes monthly statistics for ocean currents, temperature and salinity. For temperature and salinity, the statistics include the mean, maximum, minimum, and standard deviation for a given month. Partial months are included. For vector (current) data, the statistics include maximum speed (without regard to direction), mean speed and direction, and the principal axis components for the data as observed (referred to as high frequency), and with the tide removed (low frequency). Tide removal is accomplished by applying a simple boxcar filter if necessary to subsample at hourly intervals, and then applying a Cartwright filter of 129 weights and a high frequency cutoff of 0.864 cycles/day. The principal axes analysis determines the orientation of the maximum and minimum variance and is a measure of the variability of the current. The direction corresponds to that of the major axis in degrees true. When used with the vector mean, and making some assumptions about the distribution, (i.e. mean +/- N standard deviations), the current extremes in both the sub-tidal (low frequency) and tidal (mid-frequency) bands can be estimated.

All of the data reported in the inventory are held at the Bedford Institute, although a substantial amount of the data originated from other sources. In addition to research programs at the Bedford Institute, data have been obtained from the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Center, St. John's, Newfoundland, Institut Maurice Lamontagne, Mont Joli, Québec, the former Bayfield Laboratory, Burlington, Ont. as well as other Canadian universities (Dalhousie, McGill) and US institutes and agencies such as Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution and the United States Geological Survey. A significant number of current series have been obtained from the oil and gas industry as part of the offshore drilling on the Scotian Shelf, Grand Banks, and Labrador Shelf.

Complete time series data are available on request. Each time series is associated with an event specification (event_spec). Please specify this field with any request for data. Use the Contact Us menu link at the left of the page. Requested data files will be placed on our anonymous ftp server.

Validation

All of the statistics have been subjected to a series of tests and assigned quality flags. The flags for vector (current ) and scalar (temperature and salinity) data are:
Quality Description
1 Did not fail any of the tests
2 Extremes > four standard deviations from the monthly mean.
For currents, the maximum variability in the tidal range is used instead of the mean.
3 Constant value
Current mean speed = maximum speed
Temperature minimum = maximum
Salinity minimum = maximum
4 Extremes out of range
Current mean >= 1.0 m/s or maximum >= 2.5 m/s
Temperature minimum <= -2.5°C or maximum >= 30°C
Salinity minimum <= 1 psu or maximum >= 37 psu
5 Mean out of range
Current mean < threshold velocity or >= 2.5 m/s
Temperature mean <= -2.5°C or >= 30°C
Salinity mean <= 1psu or >= 37 psu

Time series that have any test failure are re-examined and repaired if possible (usually involving de-spiking of the data). Any statistics which had a quality of three or greater are rejected. Statistics which had a quality of two but no obvious spiking outside of the background variability are retained.

Inventaire des Donnes Ocaniques (ODI)

Veuillez citer ODI de la manière suivante:

MPO. (20xx). Inventaire des Données Océaniques (ODI): base de données de l’inventaire des courantomètes, des thermographes et des marégraphes - la plupart sur les plateaux continentaux de la côte est canadienne, de 1960 à aujourd'hui. https://www.bio.gc.ca/science/data-donnees/base/data-donnees/odi-fr.php . Consultée le -insérez la date ici

xx est l’année pour laquelle vous avez interrogez la base de donnée

De plus, veuillez inclure ce qui suit dans votre liste de références:

Gregory, D.N., 2004. Inventaire des données océaniques (ODI) : une base de données sur les séries chronologiques de données sur les courants océaniques, la température et la salinité pour l'Atlantique nord-ouest. MPO, Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique, document de recherche 2004/097

Note importante:

Au lancement, l'application affiche une carte dans une fenêtre contextuelle que Windows XP peut bloquer. Veuillez sélectionner l'option permettant d'afficher les fenêtres contextuelles (option « Always allow pop-ups from this site »).

Certains d'entre vous utilisent peut-être la barre d'outils de Google, qui peut aussi bloquer les fenêtres contextuelles. Allez dans le menu Options et désélectionnez l'option de blocage des fenêtres contextuelles (pop-up blocker).

Si vous préférez ne pas permettre l'affichage de fenêtres contextuelles, cliquez sur le bouton « Montrer toutes les stations » au bas de l'écran de recherche, pour forcer l'application à dessiner la carte.

L'application ODI («Ocean Data Inventory» - Inventaire des Données Océaniques)

Cette application extrait l'information contenue dans l'inventaire des données océanographiques (Ocean Data Inventory) en fonction des critères spatiotemporels spécifiés par l'usager. Les résultats fournis sont de l'information relative à tous les déploiements qui répondent à vos critères ainsi que des statistiques mensuelles sur les paramètres choisis (sauf le niveau d'eau).

L'écran de requête est la base de l'application. Les cartes et produits demandés sont toujours affichés dans une nouvelle fenêtre de navigateur. La plupart des champs du formulaire de recherche sont reliés à un texte de dépannage qui peut être affiché en tout temps.

ì la première ouverture de l'application, une fenêtre par défaut est créée. Cette fenêtre affiche toutes les données disponibles. Le fait de créer et de lancer une requête définira davantage les critères de recherche pour n'inclure que l'information désirée. Les cartes et produits sont toujours fondés sur les critères de la requête en cours. Les produits disponibles depuis la base de données incluent des cartes des emplacements des stations pour les paramètres choisis, des détails sur les stations pour les emplacements choisis, et des statistiques mensuelles sur les courants, la température et la salinité. Les pages de données affichées peuvent être sauvegardées dans un chiffrier électronique Excel ou dans un fichier délimité par des virgules (csv). Les rapports formatés peuvent être sauvegardés en format rtf (rich text format) pour être importés dans un système de traitement de texte.

Référence

Gregory, D.N., 2004. Inventaire des données océaniques (ODI) : une base de données sur les séries chronologiques de données sur les courants océaniques, la température et la salinité pour l'Atlantique nord-ouest. MPO, Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique, document de recherche 2004/097

La base de données ODI

La base de données ODI (Ocean Data Inventory) est un inventaire de toutes les données de séries chronologiques océanographiques conservées par la Division des sciences océanologiques de l'Institut océanographique de Bedford. Les données archivées incluent quelque 5800 séries chronologiques recueillies à l'aide de Doppler acoustiques et de courantomètres, 4500 séries chronologiques de lectures de la température côtière recueillies au moyen de thermographes et d'un petit nombre (200) de marégraphes. Bon nombre des courantomètres comportent aussi des sondes de température et de salinité. La zone pour laquelle nous possédons des données est grossièrement définie comme l'Atlantique nord et l'Arctique, de 30° à 82° de latitude nord, bien qu'il existe aussi une certaine quantité de données pour d'autres parties du monde. La période couverte est de 1960 à ce jour. La base de données est mise à jour régulièrement.

En plus d'être un registre de données, l'inventaire inclut aussi des statistiques mensuelles relatives à la salinité, à la température et aux courants océaniques. Pour la température et la salinité, les statistiques incluent la moyenne, le maximum, le minimum ainsi que l'écart-type pour un mois donné. Les mois partiels sont inclus. Dans le cas des données vectorielles (courant), les statistiques incluent la vitesse maximale (sans tenir compte de la direction), la vitesse moyenne et la direction, ainsi que les composantes selon l'axe principal de la donnée observée (dite haute fréquence) et de la donnée observée moins la marée (basse fréquence). L'enlèvement de la marée est réalisé par l'application, au besoin, d'un simple filtre d'échantillonnage à intervalles d'une heure, puis d'un filtre Cartwright à pondération 129 et d'un coupe-fréquence réglé à 0,864 cycle/jour. L'analyse des axes principaux détermine l'orientation de la variance maximale et minimale; il s'agit donc d'une mesure de la variabilité du courant. La direction correspond à celle de l'axe majeur en degrés vrais. En utilisant la moyenne vectorielle et en faisant certaines hypothèses quant à la distribution (c.-à-d., moyenne ± N écarts-types), il est possible de faire une estimation des valeurs extrêmes du courant, tant dans la bande infratidale (basse fréquence) que dans la bande tidale (fréquence moyenne).

Toutes les données contenues dans l'inventaire sont conservées à l'Institut océanographique de Bedford, même si une quantité importante des données provient d'autres sources. En plus de celles provenant des programmes de recherche de l'Institut océanographique de Bedford, des données ont été obtenues du Centre des pêcheries de l'Atlantique nord-ouest (St-Jean, Terre-Neuve), de l'Institut Maurice Lamontagne (Mont Joli, Québec), de l'ancien laboratoire Bayfield (Burlington, Ontario), ainsi que d'universités canadiennes (Dalhousie, McGill) et d'instituts et organismes américains comme le WHOI («Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute» - Institution de l'Océanographie de Woods Hole) et l'USGS («United States Geological Survey» - Institut d'études géologiques des États-Unis).

Sur demande, il est possible de se procurer des données de séries chronologiques complètes. Chaque série chronologique correspond à un événement spécifique (event_spec). Veuillez préciser ce champ pour chaque requête de données. Utiliser le bouton Contactez-nous au haut de la page. Les fichiers de données requis seront mis sur notre serveur ftp anonyme.

Validation

Toutes les statistiques ont fait l'objet d'une série d'essais et un marqueur de qualité leur a été attribué. Voici les marqueurs utilisés pour les données vectorielles (courant) et les données scalaires (température et salinité) :
Qualité Description
1 N'a échoué à aucun des essais
2 Valeurs extrêmes supérieures à 4 fois l'écart-type par rapport à la moyenne mensuelle.
Pour les courants, on utilise la variabilité maximale dans la zone tidale plutôt que la moyenne.
3 Valeur constante
Courant vitesse moyenne = vitesse maximale
Température minimum = maximum
Salinité minimum = maximum
4 Extrêmes à l'extérieur de la plage
Courant moyenne >= 1.0 m/s ou maximum >= 2.5 m/s
Température minimum <= -2.5°C ou maximum >= 30°C
Salinité minimum <= 1 psu ou maximum >= 37 psu
5 Moyenne à l'extérieur de la plage
Courant moyenne < vitesse limite ou >= 2.5 m/s
Température moyenne <= -2.5°C or >= 30°C
Salinité moyenne <= 1psu or >= 37 psu

Les séries chronologiques pour lesquelles des échecs ont été observés font l'objet d'un nouvel examen et elles sont corrigées, si possible (ce qui comporte habituellement l'élimination des pointes dans les données). Toutes les statistiques ayant un marqueur de qualité supérieur ou égal à 3 sont rejetées. Les statistiques dont le marqueur de qualité est 2, mais qui ne laissent voir aucune pointe supérieure à la variabilité de fond, sont conservées.