The Sea-surface Temperature (SST) Database

This database consists of satellite measurements of (nominally) weekly-averaged surface temperature for the Northwest Atlantic. The data are obtained from the Physical Oceanography Archive Centre of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL).

There are four JPL products maintained in the database.

  • Pathfinder 5 SST 4 km. seven day average composite from 1985 to 2012. This product is under review by the provider and may also be discontinued. The data are based on the 4 km. seven day ascending "all SST" which includes quality flags. Data are filtered to include only quality 4-7. The coverage area is from 35°N-80°N and 35°W-100°W. For a description of the data refer to http://www.nodc.noaa.gov/sog/pathfinder4km/.
  • Pathfinder SST 4.1 and 4.1i 9 km. eight day average composite. V4.1 is available from 1985 to 1999 and version Interim V4.1 from 2000 to June 2003 when the product was terminated. The Interim 4.1 uses the same algorithm but the coefficients are based on the previous year. In both cases, data are based on the 9 km., eight day ascending "all SST" version (which includes quality flag and number in average) filtered to include only data quality flags 4-7. Quality flags are included when requesting the source data. Coverage area is from 35°N-67°N and 35°W-77°W. For a complete description of the data, refer to http://podaac.jpl.nasa.gov/sst/sst_data.html.
  • MCSST 18 km. seven day average composite from 1981 - 2000. This product was discontinued in February 2001. Coverage area is the same as Pathfinder 4. For a complete description of the data refer to http://podaac-www.jpl.nasa.gov/.

We have not conducted a formal inter-comparison of The Pathfinder and Multi-Channel Sea Surface Temperature (MCSST) products for the overlapping years of 1985-2000. Pathfinder has a much higher rate of data recovery (at least a factor of 2), particularly in northern latitudes. The actual number of observations are about 8x that of MCSST. A four-fold increase is due to the higher spatial resolution.

There is also a difference in the time reference.

  • MCSST is a seven day composite with time referenced to the mid-point of the series. The averaging period started in November 1981 and continued in seven day increments until the product stopped in Dec. 2000.
  • Pathfinder 4 is an eight day composite with time referenced to the beginning of the series and continues for 46 time steps to the end of the year. The last time period is a five day (or six if a leap year composite. The series start on January 1 of each year.
  • Pathfinder 5 is much like MCSST. It is a seven day composite with time referenced to the beginning of the series and continues for 52 time steps to the end of the year. The last time period in a year may go into the next year.

Users should be careful in combining the MCSST, Pathfinder4 and Pathfinder 5 data sources because of the algorithm and time differences. Pathfinder 5 appears to have a much greater incidence of very low (-3 deg) temperatures.

The Pathfinder and MCSST data are provided at no charge by :

User Services Office
Physical Oceanography Archive Centre (PO.DAAC)
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
M/S 300-320
4800 Oak Grove Drive
Pasadena, CA 91109, USA
SST Data Processing


The SST Application

This application extracts information from the Ocean Sciences SST database according to user specified spatial and temporal criteria. Output results can be either statistical summaries of the data or the actual data stored in the database (for input into your own analyses). The query is performed off-line. You will be contacted by email when your results become available. Results should normally be available within a few hours (depending upon the size of your query and the number of requests ahead of you). If you haven't had a reply within 24 hours, contact us and we will try to determine what happened.

A Brief Tour

(A) Query Identification

All of your queries are assigned a unique query number and saved under your username. You can re-run existing queries or edit them and submit them as new queries. You can assign a name under the Title input. This name is saved internally in the results files for your reference.

(B) Area Selection Type

You may define a geographical area in one of three ways;

  • Choose from a list of pre-defined polygons (multiple selections are permitted). The pre-defined polygons are shown in areas.html.
  • Provide your own polygon definition by latitude/longitude co-ordinates. To do this, select the Define Area button at the top of your screen, follow the instructions to create a new polygon, and then select it from the list of pre-defined polygons.
  • Define a rectangle by latitude/longitude coordinates. The blocks parameter permits one to subdivide the entire rectangle into x by y blocks. For example, specifying latitude from 42° to 45° and longitude from -62° to -65° with 1° blocks in both latitude and longitude would result in defining nine separate 1° grid squares for which statistics would be generated.

Note that the convention for longitude is positive East. Latitude and Longitude must be specified as decimal degrees, but we provide a converter if you prefer degrees, minutes, seconds.

(C) Time Specification

Specify a continuous time period from (month/day/year) to (month/day/year) and/or a seasonal window. Months are inclusive. Months 6 to 9 means June to September. Months 12 to 2 would select only December to February. Default is all months for the entire time period for which there are data.

(D) Temperature Filter

Both Pathfinder 4 and Pathfinder 5 contain very low temperatures (~-3 deg. C) even though they have passed the quality tests (quality flag 4 or greater). This option permits the user to set a range of acceptable values. Any value outside this range is excluded from any further computations.

(E) Data Source

There are four data sources currently supported and described at the beginning of this page under the section SST Database. To see the list of data sources, click inside the pick list box. A data source selection box will appear and sources can be selected or de-selected with a double-click.

(F) Quality Flag

Pathfinder 4 and 5 include quality flags (0 lowest, 7 highest quality). Only data with quality 4 or greater are included in SST. Users may further restrict this by selecting their own range of quality flags.

(G) Result Information Set

The result set files returned to you depend upon what options you request; The standard deviation is calculated using the "nonbiased" or "n-1" method using the following formula:

s = ( 1 n - 1 i = 1 n ( x i - x ¯ ) 2 ) 1 2

Seasonal Cycle, Time Series Will get both the Times series of monthly statistics (average, minimum, maximum and count of observations for each year and month and depth level for which there are data) and Seasonal Cycle (average, minimum. maximum, standard deviation, count of observations and count of months in average). The values are determined by an un-weighted average over all months from the time series statistics.

Complete Profile Data extracts every value of temperature referenced to latitude, longitude and date. These files can be very large. Many people request it simply because they can. Make sure it is what you really require before requesting it. There are also some file size restrictions. See Caveats.

The complete result set can consist of up to four ascii text files. All files are of the form qry_xx.txt, where xx is your unique query identifier. Files are comma delimited with a header label for easy import into a spreadsheet or database application. (see detailed file description)

(H) Run

After the query specification is complete, clicking Run button will submit the query.

La Base de donnes de la Temprature de Surface de la Mer

Cette base de données regroupe des moyennes hebdomadaires (nominales) de mesures par satellite de la températures de surface de la mer pour le nord-ouest de l'Atlantique. Les données sont obtenues du Physical Oceanography Archive Centre du Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL).

Quatre produits du JPL sont conservés dans la base de données.

  • Pathfinder 5 SST («Sea Surface Temperature» - Température de Surface de la Mer): 4 km, version moyenne combinée sur sept jours pour l'intervalle de 1985 à 2012. Ce produit fait actuellement l'objet d'un examen par le fournisseur et sa production pourrait également être interrompue. Les données sont basées sur la version 4 km «tout SST» ascendantes sur sept jours qui comprend les drapeaux indicateurs de qualité. Les données sont filtrées pour ne retenir que les indicateurs de qualité de 4 à 7. La région couverte s'étend de 35 à 80° N. et de 35 à 100° O. Une description des données est fournie à l'adresse Web http://www.nodc.noaa.gov/sog/pathfinder4km/
  • Pathfinder SST 4.1 et 4.1i: 9 km, version combinée moyenne sur huit jours. La V4.1 est disponible pour l'intervalle de 1985 à 1999 et la V4.1 provisoire pour l'intervalle de 2000 à juin 2003, date à laquelle la production de ce produit a été interrompue. La version provisoire 4.1 utilise le même algorithme, mais les coefficients sont basés sur l'année précédente. Dans les deux cas, les données découlent de la version 9 km «tout SST» ascendantes sur huit jours (qui comprend le drapeau indicateur de qualité et le nombre d'observations utilisées pour le calcul de la moyenne) filtrées pour n'inclure que les drapeaux indicateurs de qualité de 4 à 7. Les drapeaux indicateurs de qualité sont inclus lorsque la source des données est demandée. La région couverte s'étend de 35 à 67° N. et de 35 à 77° O. Une description complète des données est fournie à l'adresse Web http://podaac.jpl.nasa.gov/sst/sst_data.html.
  • MCSST («Multi-Channel SST» - multi-canal SST): 18 km. Version combinée sur sept jours pour l'intervalle de 1981 à 2000. La diffusion de ce produit a été interrompue en février 2001. La région couverte est la même que pour les données Pathfinder 4. Une description complète des données est fournie à l'adresse Web http://podaac-www.jpl.nasa.gov/

Nous n'avons pas effectué de comparaison formelle des produits Pathfinder et MCSST pour les années où il a chevauchement de 1985 à 2000. Le produit Pathfinder offre un taux de récupération des données de beaucoup supérieur (par un facteur d'au moins 2), surtout aux latitudes septentrionales. Le nombre réel d'observations est d'environ 8 fois celui du produit MCSST. Un accroissement par un facteur de 4 est attribuable à la plus grande résolution spatiale.

Il y a également une différence en ce qui a trait à la référence temps.

  • Le produit MCSST est une version combinée sur sept jours avec référence temps au point médian de la série. L'intervalle de calcul de la moyenne commence en novembre 1981 et se poursuit par incréments de sept jours jusqu'à l'interruption de la diffusion du produit en décembre 2000.
  • Le produit Pathfinder quatre est une version combinée sur huit jours avec référence temps au début de la série et se poursuit en 46 intervalles jusqu'à la fin de l'année. Le dernier intervalle en est un de cinq jours (ou de 6 si l'année est bissextile). La série commence le premier janvier de chaque année.
  • Le produit Pathfinder 5 est très similaire au MCSST. C'est une version combinée sur sept jours avec référence temps au début de la série et il se poursuit en 46 intervalles jusqu'à la fin de l'année. Le dernier intervalle d'une année donnée peut se prolonger dans l'année suivante.

La prudence est conseillée à l'utilisateur souhaitant combiner les sources de données MCSST, Pathfinder 4 et Pathfinder 5 en raison de différences d'algorithmes et de temps. Le produit Pathfinder 5 semble présenter une incidence beaucoup plus élevée de températures très faibles (moins de 3 degrés).

Les données Pathfinder et MCSST sont offertes sans frais par :

User Services Office
Physical Oceanography Archive Centre (PO.DAAC)
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
M/S 300-320
4800 Oak Grove Drive
Pasadena, CA 91109, USA
SST Data Processing


Les données Pathfinder et MCSST sont offertes sans frais par :

Cette application extrait de l'information de la Base de données SST de la Division des Sciences océaniques conformément aux critères spatiaux et temporels précisés par l'utilisateur. Les résultats fournis peuvent être soit des sommaires statistiques des données, soit les données stockées dans la base de données (à introduire dans ses propres analyses). L'interrogation de la base de données s'effectue en ligne. Le demandeur est contacté par courriel dès que ses résultats sont disponibles. Les résultats devraient normalement être disponibles en moins de quelques heures (selon l'ampleur de la requête et le nombre de requêtes en attente). Si aucune réponse n'est reçue dans les 24 heures, il faut communiquer avec nous et nous tenterons de déterminer ce qui s'est passé.

Brève visite

Figure 1

(A) Identification de la requête

Un numéro unique est attribué à chaque requête et sauvegardé sous le non de l'utilisateur. L'utilisateur peut ainsi exécuter de nouveau une requête déjà faite ou la modifier pour la présenter sous forme de nouvelle requête. Un nom peut être attribué à la requête dans la case «TITRE». Ce nom est sauvegardé à l'interne dans les fichiers de résultats à des fins de référence.

(B) Sélection de la région

Une région géographique peut être définie de trois façons :

  • On peut la choisir dans une liste de polygones prédéfinis (possibilité de choix multiples). Les polygones prédéfinis sont représentés à la page areas.html.
  • On peut définir son propre polygone au moyen de ses coordonnées en latitude et en longitude. Pour ce faire, cocher le bouton sous «Type de sélection région» au haut de l'écran, puis suivre les instructions pour créer un nouveau polygone et ensuite le choisir dans la liste des polygones prédéfinis.
  • On peut définir un rectangle au moyen de ses coordonnées en latitude et en longitude. Le paramètre «blocs» permet de subdiviser un rectangle en x rangées de y blocs. Par exemple, en choisissant les latitudes de 42 à 45° et les longitudes de -62 à -65° subdivisées en blocs de 1° en latitude et en longitude, on obtiendrait neuf cellules distinctes de 1° de côté pour lesquelles les statistiques seraient générées.

Noter que la convention pour la longitude consiste à utiliser des valeurs positives pour les longitudes est. La latitude et la longitude doivent être exprimées en degrés et décimales, mais nous fournissons un outil de conversion si vous préférez les exprimer en degrés, minutes et secondes.

(C) Indication des dates

Il faut préciser un intervalle ininterrompu sous la forme de (mois/jour/année) à (mois/jour/année) et/ou une fenêtre saisonnière. Les mois indiqués s'entendent inclusivement Les mois six à neuf correspondent à l'intervalle de juin à septembre. Les mois 12 à duex correspondent à l'intervalle de décembre à février. L'intervalle par défaut comprend tous les mois de toute la période de temps pour laquelle il existe des données.

(D) Filtre de températures

Les produits Pathfinder 4 et 5 renferment tous deux de très faibles températures (environ moins de 3 degrés C) même après avoir été soumis aux tests de qualité (drapeau indicateur de qualité de 4 ou plus). Cette option permet à l'utilisateur d'établir une plage de valeurs acceptables. Toutes valeur hors de cette plage sera exclue de tous les calculs ultérieurs.

(E) Sources de données

Il y a actuellement quatre sources de données conservées et décrites au début de cette page à la rubrique Base de données SST. Pour afficher la liste des sources de données, cliquer dans la fenêtre de la liste de sélection. Une liste de sélection de sources de données s'affiche dans laquelle on peut sélectionner une source au moyen d'un double clic.

(F) Drapeaux indicateurs de qualité

Les drapeaux indicateurs de qualité sont inclus dans les produits Pathfinder 4 et 5 (0 = moindre qualité, 7 = meilleure qualité). Seules les données de qualité 4 ou plus sont incluses dans les SST. L'utilisateur peut limiter encore davantage ce paramètre en sélectionnant sa propre plage de drapeaux indicateurs de qualité.

(G) Ensemble des résultats

Les fichiers d'ensembles de résultats retournés à l'utilisateur dépendent des options choisies. L'écart-type est calculé par la méthode «non biaisée» ou «n-1» en utilisant la formule suivante :

s = ( 1 n - 1 i = 1 n ( x i - x ¯ ) 2 ) 1 2

Cycle saisonnier, série chronologique – En cochant les cases «Cycle saisonnier, Série chronologique» on obtiendra des séries chronologiques de statistiques mensuelles (moyenne, minimum, maximum et nombre d'observations pour chaque année et chaque mois ainsi que la plage de profondeurs pour laquelle il existe des données) et le Cycle saisonnier (moyenne, minimum, maximum, écart-type, nombre d'observations et nombre de mois pour la moyenne). Les valeurs sont obtenues par calcul d'une moyenne non pondérée pour les statistiques de la série chronologique pour tous les mois.

Profil complet – En cochant la case «Profil complet» on obtiendra chacune des valeurs pour la température avec la latitude, la longitude et la date de l'observation. Ces fichiers peuvent être très volumineux. La plupart des gens en font la demande tout simplement parce qu'ils en ont la possibilité. Avant de faire cette demande, s'assurer qu'elle correspond réellement à ce que l'on souhaite obtenir. Des limites sont en outre imposées à la taille des fichiers. Voir les Avertissements.

L'ensemble complet des résultats peut constituer jusqu'à quatre fichiers de texte ascii. Tous les fichiers ont la forme qry_xx.txt, où xx est l'identificateur exclusif attribué à la requête. Dans les fichiers les données sont séparées par des virgules et les fichiers comportent une étiquette d'en-tête pour permettre de facilement les importer dans un tableur ou une application de base de donnée. (voir la description détaillée du fichier)

(H) Exécution

Lorsque la formulation de la requête est terminée, elle est présentée en cliquant sur le bouton «Exécuter»