Clams

The offshore clam fishery on Canada's East coast started with a test fishery on the Scotian Shelf in 1986. Since that time the fishery has expanded to Grand Bank, and developed into an industry that employs approximately 450 people with annual sales exceeding $50M.

figure 1 - Landings and export values for the Arctic Surfclam fishery
Landings and export values for the Arctic Surfclam fishery

The fishery uses large freezer-processors (Figure 2), to harvest the surfclams, most of which are exported.

figure 2 - The Ocean Concord, one of the vesssels fishing for Arctic Surfclams
The Ocean Concord, one of the vesssels fishing for Arctic Surfclams

The clams have a purple color on the outer section of the foot, siphon and mantle, which turns red when blanched, similar to lobster and shrimp. The red and white coloration made it attractive to the sushi and sushimi market, where it commands a high price.

figure 3 - Package of processed blanched surfclams.  The main product is the foot portion, and blanching produces the red coloration, similar to lobster or shrimp
Package of processed blanched surfclams. The main product is the foot portion, and blanching produces the red coloration, similar to lobster or shrimp

Japan was the initial market, as it is similar in appearance to a local species, the Japanese hen clam, but the market has expanded to China and southeast Asia. Currently Japan and Hong Kong are the largest consumers.

figure 4 - Destination countries percentage exports by weight for Arctic surfclams for 2010
Destination countries percentage exports by weight for Arctic surfclams for 2010

As the fishery has progressed it has started looking at other large clam species, especially Ocean Quahogs (Arctica islandica), Greenland Smoothcockles (Serripes groenlandicus) and Northern Propellerclams (Cyrtodaria siliqua) (Figure 5)

figure 5 - Large clam species of commercial interest in the Maritimes Region.  There is a currently a commercial fishery for the Arctic Surfclam (Mactromeris polynyma) and a licence for Ocean Quahogs (Arctica islandica).  The Greenland Smoothcockles (Serripes groenlandicus) and Northern Propellerclams (Cyrtodaria siliqua) are currently caught as a by-catch in the Arctic Surfclam fishery
Large clam species of commercial interest in the Maritimes Region. There is a currently a commercial fishery for the Arctic Surfclam (Mactromeris polynyma) and a licence for Ocean Quahogs (Arctica islandica). The Greenland Smoothcockles (Serripes groenlandicus) and Northern Propellerclams (Cyrtodaria siliqua) are currently caught as a by-catch in the Arctic Surfclam fishery

Although some of the species involved in the fishery such as Ocean Quahogs, are well studied, others, such as the Artic Surfclam, Greenland Smoothcockle and Northern Propellerclam, are not, and very little is known about their life history. Growth rates for these species on the Scotian Shelf are currently being studied. The longest lived of these species is the Ocean Quahog. The oldest quahog aged to date from Sable Bank was 210 years old, and there has been one aged from Iceland at 405+ years. This has large implications for management of a fishery, as it means that productivity will be low and the allowable catch will be a very small percentage of the biomass. Although faster growing than Ocean Quahogs, most of the clam species of commercial interest , including the Arctic Surfclam, have relatively long life spans. This influences management methods and types of scientific studies being done to provide advice on these species. Low harvest rates and long life spans mean that there will be little detectable change in biomass, due to fishery or natural processes, on time scales of a few years to a decade or more.

The offshore clam fishery is one of few fisheries where surveys and associated research have taken place at the start of the fishery. This means that data from the unfished populations is available for comparison as the fishery develops. This should help ensure the development of a sustainable and stable fishery.

The results from the Sable and Banquereau surveys illustrate the distribution of different large bivalve species on the eastern Scotian Shelf (Figure 6).

figure 6 - Catch of major bivalve species caught during the Sable Bank (2003) and Banquereau (2004) offshore clam surveys
Catch of major bivalve species caught during the Sable Bank (2003) and Banquereau (2004) offshore clam surveys

For more information, click the posters below.

figure 7 - A poster detailing information on clam ageing
A poster detailing information on clam ageing
figure 8 - A poster detailing information on the Arctic Surfclam fishery
A poster detailing information on the Arctic Surfclam fishery

Palourdes

La pêche hauturière des palourdes sur la côte Est du Canada a débuté par une pêche d'essai sur le plateau néo-écossais en 1986. Depuis lors, la pêche s'est étendue jusqu'à Grand Banc et est devenue une industrie qui emploie environ 450 personnes et dont les ventes annuelles totales dépassent 50 M$.

figure 1 - Débarquements et valeurs des exportations de la pêche à la mactre de Stimpson
Débarquements et valeurs des exportations de la pêche à la mactre de Stimpson

La pêche fait appel à de grands navires-usines congélateurs (Figure 2) pour capturer les mactres, dont la plupart sont exportées.

figure 2 - Le Ocean Concord, l'un des navires utilisés pour la pêche à la mactre de Stimpson
Le Ocean Concord, l'un des navires utilisés pour la pêche à la mactre de Stimpson

La partie extérieure du pied, du siphon et du manteau de la mactre présente une couleur violette, qui vire au rouge une fois blanchie, comme le homard et la crevette. Sa couleur rouge et blanche l'a rendue populaire sur les marchés du sushi et du sashimi, où elle est vendue à un prix élevé.

figure 3 - Emballage de mactres traitées par blanchiment.  Le produit principal est la partie du pied, qui vire au rouge une fois blanchie, comme le homard et la crevette
Emballage de mactres traitées par blanchiment. Le produit principal est la partie du pied, qui vire au rouge une fois blanchie, comme le homard et la crevette

Le marché initial de la mactre fut le marché japonais, étant donné sa ressemblance à une espèce locale, mais le marché s'est étendu jusqu'en Chine et en Asie du Sud-Est. Actuellement, les plus grands consommateurs sont le Japon et Hong Kong.

figure 4 - Pourcentage des exportations de mactres de Stimpson aux pays destinataires selon le poids en 2010
Pourcentage des exportations de mactres de Stimpson aux pays destinataires selon le poids en 2010

Plus la pêche évolue, plus on se penche sur d'autres grandes espèces de palourdes, particulièrement le quahog nordique (Arctica islandica), la coque du Groenland (Serripes groenlandicus) et le couteau de Banks (Cyrtodaria siliqua) (Figure 5).

figure 5 - Grandes espèces de palourdes qui représentent un intérêt commercial dans la région des Maritimes.  Actuellement, la pêche commerciale de la mactre de Stimpson (Mactromeris polynyma) est pratiquée et un permis pour la pêche du quahog nordique (Arctica islandica) est détenu.  La coque du Groenland (Serripes groenlandicus) et le couteau de Banks (Cyrtodaria siliqua) sont actuellement capturés en tant que prises accessoires de la pêche à la mactre de Stimpson
Grandes espèces de palourdes qui représentent un intérêt commercial dans la région des Maritimes. Actuellement, la pêche commerciale de la mactre de Stimpson (Mactromeris polynyma) est pratiquée et un permis pour la pêche du quahog nordique (Arctica islandica) est détenu. La coque du Groenland (Serripes groenlandicus) et le couteau de Banks (Cyrtodaria siliqua) sont actuellement capturés en tant que prises accessoires de la pêche à la mactre de Stimpson

Bien que certaines espèces comprises dans la pêche soient bien étudiées (p. ex. quahog nordique), d'autres espèces telles que la mactre de Stimpson, la coque du Groenland et le couteau de Banks ne le sont pas, et il existe très peu de renseignements sur leur cycle biologique. Les taux de croissance de ces espèces sur le plateau néo-écossais sont en cours d'étude. Parmi ces espèces, celle ayant la plus longue durée de vie est le quahog nordique. À ce jour, le quahog le plus âgé provenant du banc de l'île de Sable avait 210 ans et un quahog de plus de 405 ans a été découvert en Islande. Cette réalité à d'importantes répercussions sur la gestion des pêches, car cela signifie que la productivité sera faible et que le nombre autorisé des captures correspondera à un très petit pourcentage de la biomasse. Même si la plupart des espèces de palourdes représentant un intérêt commercial, y compris la mactre de Stimpson, croissent plus rapidement que le quahog nordique, elles ont une durée de vie relativement longue. Les méthodes de gestion et le type d'études scientifiques réalisées en vue de donner des conseils sur ces espèces seront influencés. Un taux de capture faible et une longue durée de vie signifient qu'il n'y aura que très peu d'effets détectables sur la biomasse, en raison des pêches ou des processus naturels, sur des périodes allant de quelques années jusqu'à une décennie ou plus.

La pêche hauturière des palourdes est l'une des seules pêches pour lesquelles des relevés et des recherches connexes ont été effectués au début de la pêche. Les données sur les populations inexploitées sont donc disponibles aux fins de comparaison à mesure que la pêche progresse. Il devrait alors être plus facile d'assurer le développement d'une pêche durable et stable.

Les résultats des relevés effectués sur le Banquereau et le banc de l'île de Sable illustrent la répartition de différentes grandes espèces de bivalves sur l'est du plateau néo-écossais (Figure 6).

figure 6 - Prises des principales espèces de bivalves capturées au cours des relevés hauturiers sur la palourde effectués sur le banc de l'île de Sable (2003) et le Banquereau (2004)
Prises des principales espèces de bivalves capturées au cours des relevés hauturiers sur la palourde effectués sur le banc de l'île de Sable (2003) et le Banquereau (2004)

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, cliquez sur les affiches ci-dessous :

figure 7 - Affiche présentant des détails sur le vieillissement des palourdes
Affiche présentant des détails sur le vieillissement des palourdes
figure 8 - Affiche présentant des détails sur la pêche à la mactre de Stimpson
Affiche présentant des détails sur la pêche à la mactre de Stimpson