Managed Fisheries

The following is a list of fish species that are managed fisheries in Atlantic Canadian waters. Species names that are hyperlinked provide information about the species.


Crustaceans are a large group of arthropods (invertebrates with exoskeletons) that include crabs, shrimp, and lobsters, among others. Crustaceans are generally differentiated from other arthropod groups by their biramous limbs (limbs having only two segments), and by the different stages through which their larvae develop.


Groundfish are any fish that live in or on the bottom of a body of water. They include halibut, flounder, skates, and others.

Large Pelagics

Pelagic fish are those that live in the water column (i.e, those not living near the bottom) of seas, oceans, and lakes. Large pelagic species include several species of shark, tuna, and billfish.


Molluscs are a class of invertebrates typically charactarised by a large internal cavity into which the anus and genitals open, as well as a uniquely organised nervous system. Counted among their number are gastropods, like snails and whelks; bivalves, like clams and scallops; and cephalopods, like squids and octopuses.

Commercial Seaweeds

"Seaweed" is a term used to refer to a broad range of different algae, both macro- and microscopic, which live on the seabed. Some of these species are harvested as commercial crops, either as food (like Dulse), or for some other use (Irish Moss is valuable for the compound carrageenan which can be extracted from it).

Diadromous Fish

Diadromous fish are those that migrate between fresh and salt water. In the maritimes, they are often either anadromous, meaning they live in the ocean and breed in fresh water; or catadromous, meaning they live in fresh water and breed in the ocean.

  • Eel
  • Gaspereau
  • Salmon
  • Shad
  • Smelt
  • Sturgeon
  • Trout