Commercial Seaweeds

Seaweeds are algae, common along most rocky coastlines in temperate waters. As photosynthetic plants they are an important source of primary production to nearshore areas. Their biomass provides habitat to fish and invertebrates, as well as substantial quantities of particulate material used by the nearshore detrital food web (which feeds important bivalves like scallops). Seaweeds are also consumed directly by commercially important invertebrates like sea urchins.

Seaweeds produce a variety of chemicals of interest to humans. Historically, seaweeds have been harvested around the world for colloidal compounds useful in the food industry and for other specialized applications. Agar, alginate and carrageenan have all been extracted for these purposes. Seaweed has also been harvested over the centuries as food, fertilizer or for animal fodder. The most well known commercial seaweed crops in Atlantic Canada are rockweed (Ascophyllum), Irish moss (Chondrus) and dulse (Palmaria).

Rockweed

figure 1 - Rockweed as seen underwater
Rockweed as seen underwater

Rockweed is a large, well branched brown seaweed harvested by hand rake in small skiffs, usually by one person. By law, 12.7cm of the plant is left behind by the cutting blade of the rake, enough to ensure regrowth. Each skiff can handle many hundreds of kilograms of rockweed, which is dropped off at buying stations scattered along the coast.

figure 2 - Rockweed being harvested
Rockweed being harvested

Approximately 20,000 tonnes is harvested per year in Nova Scotia, mainly along the western and southern shores. The New Brunswick Bay of Fundy harvest brings in about half that amount. Most of the rockweed harvest is processed into fertilizers and animal feed.

figure 3 - Rockweed on the beach at low tide
Rockweed on the beach at low tide

Irish Moss

figure 4 - Irish moss as seen underwater
Irish moss as seen underwater

Irish moss is a small 'turf like' red alga also harvested mainly by hand rake with single crew skiffs. In this instance, the hand rake does not have a cutting blade, but the tine spacing is set quite small (5mm by regulation) so larger plants are pulled off the rocks and cling to the rake, leaving smaller plants behind for regrowth.

figure 5 - Irish Moss being harvested
Irish Moss being harvested

Traditionally, large Irish moss harvests occurred along the south western Nova Scotian shoreline and western Prince Edward Island. However, the demands for the Irish moss extract, carrageenan, follows a world wide market involving other red algae which have reduced the dominance of Irish moss. The present Nova Scotian harvest is in the order of 1,500 tonnes per year and the PEI harvest has all but collapsed.

Dulse

figure 6 - Dulse as seen underwater
Dulse as seen underwater

Dulse is also a red alga, larger and less stiff than Irish moss. It is harvested by hand picking on beaches dominated by boulders which get rolled and tossed by storms from time to time. Most of the dulse harvest takes place in Grand Manan. A small amount is collected in Nova Scotia as well. Harvest amounts are quite low. The plants are dried and salted, and sold as a snack.

Algues Commerciales

Les varechs sont des algues qui se trouvent couramment le long de la côte rocheuse d'eaux tempérées. Tout comme les plantes photosynthétiques, les varechs constituent une source importante de la production primaire dans les zones côtières. Leur biomasse offre un habitat aux poissons et aux invertébrés ainsi que des quantités considérables de matière particulaire utilisée par le réseau trophique détritique côtier (qui permet de nourrir d'importants bivalves tels que le pétoncle). Les varechs sont également consommés directement par des invertébrés d'importance commerciale tels que les oursins.

Les varechs produisent une variété de substances chimiques intéressantes pour les humains. Traditionnellement, les varechs étaient récoltés partout dans le monde pour leurs éléments colloïdaux utiles dans l'industrie alimentaire et pour d'autres applications spécialisées. La gélose, l'alginate et le carraghénane ont tous été extraits à ces fins. Les varechs ont aussi été récoltés au cours des siècles en tant que nourriture, engrais ou fourrage pour animaux. Les cultures d'espèces commerciales de varechs les plus connues au Canada atlantique sont celles de fucus (Ascophyllum), de mousse d'Irlande (Chondrus) et de dulse (Palmaria).

Fucus

figure 1 - Fucus tel qu'il se présente sous l'eau
Fucus tel qu'il se présente sous l'eau

Le fucus est un varech brun bien ramifié de grande taille qui est récolté à l'aide d'un râteau à main dans de petites yoles, habituellement par une personne. En vertu de la loi, pour assurer la repousse des plantes, il faut les couper avec la lame du râteau en laissant une tige de 12,7 cm. Chaque yole peut accepter un poids de plusieurs centaines de kilogrammes de fucus, qui sont ensuite déposés à des postes d'achat présents un peu partout le long de la côte.

figure 2 - Récolte de fucus
Récolte de fucus

On récolte chaque année en Nouvelle-Écosse près de 20 000 tonnes de fucus, principalement le long des rives sud et ouest. La récolte dans la baie de Fundy au Nouveau-Brunswick en produit environ la moitié. La plupart des fucus récoltés sont traités afin d'en faire de l'engrais et des aliments pour animaux.

figure 3 - Fucus sur la plage à marée basse
Fucus sur la plage à marée basse

Mousse d'Irlande

figure 4 - Mousse d'Irlande telle qu'elle se présente sous l'eau
Mousse d'Irlande telle qu'elle se présente sous l'eau

La mousse d'Irlande est une algue rouge de petite taille poussant en tapis qui est aussi principalement récoltée à l'aide d'un râteau à main par une personne dans de petites yoles. Dans ce cas, le râteau n'est pas doté d'une lame de coupe. L'espace entre les dents est relativement petit (5 mm en vertu des règlements) pour qu'il soit possible d'arracher les plantes de plus grandes tailles présentes sur les roches en laissant derrière les plus petites pour en assurer la repousse.

figure 5 - Récolte de mousse d'Irlande
Récolte de mousse d'Irlande

Traditionnellement, les grandes récoltes de mousse d'Irlande avaient lieu le long de la côte sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de la côte ouest de l'Î.-P.-É. Cependant, la demande pour la substance extractible de la mousse d'Irlande, le carraghénane, suit un marché mondial comprenant d'autres algues rouges qui ont réduit la dominance de la mousse d'Irlande. La récolte actuelle en Nouvelle-Écosse produit 1 500 tonnes par année et celle de l'Î.-P.-É. s'est presque écroulée.

Dulse

figure 6 - Dulse telle qu'elle se présente sous l'eau
Dulse telle qu'elle se présente sous l'eau

La dulse est également une algue rouge de plus grande taille et moins rigide que la mousse d'Irlande. Elle est récoltée à la main sur les plages dominées par des blocs rocheux, qui y sont amenés par les tempêtes de temps à autre. La plupart des récoltes de dulse ont lieu à Grand Manan. Une petite quantité est recueillie en Nouvelle-Écosse également. Les quantités récoltées sont assez faibles. Les plantes sont séchées et salées et vendues comme collation.