Coastal Ocean Climate

Gully Oceanography

Gully Map
Gully Map

The Gully is the largest submarine canyon in eastern North America and is located approximately 200 km from Nova Scotia and 45 km east of Sable Island. The Gully contains a rich diversity of marine habitats and species, including deep-sea corals and the northern bottlenose whale. In recognition of this unique marine habitat, the Gully was designated a Marine Protected Area (MPA) in May 2004.

Research is being carried out by the Ocean Sciences and Ecosystem Research Divisions to improve our understanding of oceanographic processes in the Gully. There has been a long-held belief that this is a region of enhanced biological productivity which is linked to the retention of water masses and increased vertical mixing providing significant fluxes of nutrients to the euphotic zone. The research is examining whether there are physical oceanographic features which support the potential for enhanced biological productivity. Four moorings were deployed in the Gully from April 2006 to August 2007 to measure currents, temperature and salinity. These were complemented by an extensive ship-based survey of the region measuring physical, chemical and biological properties.

For further information, contact Dr. Blair Greenan.

Reference:

Harrison, W. G., and D. G. Fenton. 1998. The Gully: A Scientific Review of its Environment and Ecosystem. Canadian Stock Assessment Secretariat Research Document 98/83, Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Locations of bi-weekly sampling stations in AZMP
Locations of bi-weekly sampling stations in AZMP
Temperature, salinity, density (sigma-t), chlorophyll, and photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) measured with SeaHorse at HL2.
Temperature, salinity, density (sigma-t), chlorophyll, and photosynthetically active radiation (PAR) measured with SeaHorse at HL2.

Biological-Physical Coupling on the Inner Scotian Shelf

The Atlantic Zone Monitoring Program (AZMP) has sampled the Halifax Line Station 2 (HL2) approximately bi-weekly since 1998. This sentinel observing site provides a high-frequency record of oceanographic conditions on the inner Scotian Shelf.

Observations include:
  • temperature, salinity, fluorometer, and oxygen profiles derived from a Sea-Bird CTD with auxiliary sensors;
  • bottle samples for oxygen, nitrate, silicate, phosphate, and phytoplankton;
  • vertical net tows for zooplankton; and
  • a Secchi disk measurement for water clarity.

Complementary research using innovative mooring technology has improved our understanding of the linkages between short-term physical events and the biological responses on time scales of days to weeks. The onset and evolution of the spring bloom on the inner Scotian Shelf is a complex process in which nutrient inventory, vertical mixing and coastal upwelling play roles of varying importance throughout its lifetime. Fall blooms of phytoplankton can be initiated by coastal upwelling events which bring nutrients upward to the ocean surface and replenish the depleted euphotic zone during this season.

For further information, contact Dr. Blair Greenan.

References:

Greenan, B.J.W., B.D. Petrie, W.G. Harrison, and N.S. Oakey, 2004. Are the Spring and Fall Blooms on the Scotian Shelf Related to Short-Term Physical Events? Continental Shelf Research, 24, 603-625. doi:10.1016/j.csr.2003.11.006.

Greenan, B. J. W., B. D. Petrie, W. G. Harrison, and P. M. Strain. 2008. The onset and evolution of a spring bloom on the Scotian Shelf. Limnol. Oceanogr. 53: 1759-1775.

Climat des eaux ctires

Étude de l'océan dans le Gully

Carte du Gully
Carte du Gully

Le Gully est le plus grand canyon sous marin de l'est de l'Amérique du Nord. Il est situé à environ 200 km de la Nouvelle écosse et à 45 km à l'est de l'île de Sable. Il contient une grande diversité d'espèces et d'habitats marins, abritant notamment des coraux d'eau profonde et la baleine à bec commune. En raison de son milieu marin unique, le Gully a été désigné « zone de protection marine » (ZPM) en mai 2004.

La Division des sciences océanologiques et la Division de la recherche écosystémique ont entrepris des travaux de recherche pour améliorer notre connaissance des processus océaniques au sein du Gully. Depuis longtemps, certains pensent que la forte productivité biologique de cette région est associée à la rétention des masses d'eau et à un fort brassage vertical qui crée d'importants flux de nutriants vers la zone euphotique. On cherche donc à déterminer si l'océan présente effectivement dans le canyon des caractéristiques physiques susceptibles d'accroître la productivité biologique. Quatre ancrages d'instruments ont été en place dans le Gully d'avril 2006 à aoùt 2007 pour mesurer les courants, la température et la salinité. Les données qu'ils ont permis d'obtenir ont été complétées par les résultats d'un vaste relevé par navire qui avait pour but de mesurer les propriétés physiques, chimiques et biologiques de l'océan dans la région.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec Blair Greenan (Ph.D.).

Référence:

Harrison, W. G., and D. G. Fenton. 1998. The Gully: A Scientific Review of its Environment and Ecosystem. Canadian Stock Assessment Secretariat Research Document 98/83, Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Emplacements des stations du PMZA échantillonnées toutes les deux semaines.
Emplacements des stations du PMZA échantillonnées toutes les deux semaines.
Température, salinité, densité (sigma-t), chlorophylle et rayonnement photosynthétiquement utilisable (RPU) mesurés à l'aide du SeaHorse à HL2.
Température, salinité, densité (sigma-t), chlorophylle et rayonnement photosynthétiquement utilisable (RPU) mesurés à l'aide du SeaHorse à HL2.

Étude couplée des caractéristiques biologiques et physiques à l'intérieur du plateau néo écossais

Dans le cadre du Programme de monitorage de la zone atlantique (PMZA) on a procédé à un échantillonnage à la station 2 du transect d'Halifax (HL2) toutes les deux semaines environ depuis 1998. Cet échantillonnage permet d'obtenir de très fréquentes observations sur les conditions de l'océan à l'intérieur du plateau néo-écossais.

Ce programme d'observation porte sur les éléments suivants :
  • Profils de température, de salinité, de fluorométrie et d'oxygène provenant d'un profileur CTP Sea Bird (site en anglais seulement) doté de capteurs auxiliaires;
  • Oxygène, nitrates, silicates, phosphates et phytoplancton dans des prélèvements effectués par bouteilles d'échantillonnage;
  • Zooplancton prélevé par traits de filet verticaux;
  • Mesure de la clarté de l'eau par disque de Secchi.

Des travaux de recherche complémentaires à l'aide d'instruments ancrés novateurs ont permis d'améliorer notre compréhension des liens qui existent entre les phénomènes physiques à court terme et les réactions biologiques sur des échelles temporelles allant de quelques jours à plusieurs semaines. L'apparition et l'évolution de l'efflorescence printanière à l'intérieur du plateau néo écossais est un processus complexe dans lequel interviennent à des degrés divers pendant toute la durée de cette efflorescence les stocks de nutriants, le brassage vertical et la remontée d'eau côtière. Des efflorescences automnales de phytoplancton peuvent aussi survenir, sous l'action de phénomènes de remontée d'eau côtière qui amènent les nutriants vers la surface de l'océan et réalimentent la zone euphotique appauvrie en cette saison.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec Blair Greenan (Ph.D.).

Références:

Greenan, B.J.W., B.D. Petrie, W.G. Harrison, and N.S. Oakey, 2004. Are the Spring and Fall Blooms on the Scotian Shelf Related to Short-Term Physical Events? Continental Shelf Research, 24, 603-625. doi:10.1016/j.csr.2003.11.006.

Greenan, B. J. W., B. D. Petrie, W. G. Harrison, and P. M. Strain. 2008. The onset and evolution of a spring bloom on the Scotian Shelf. Limnol. Oceanogr. 53: 1759-1775.